Kohala, Waipio Valley & Hamakua Coast Tour by Sunshine Helicopters (from Hapuna)

Overall Rating

4.564.56 / 5

Reviews

9 reviews (Post a review)

Awesome Adventure

Reviewed by: Laura S, 2015/11/30

Waterfalls and views where awesome.
After a while get a little boring but lots to see.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

That was cool!

Reviewed by: Jim, 2013/02/02

Unforgetable

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/28

The tour was absolutely fabulous!
Our pillot was informative and very smooth in handling the aircraft.
We both enjoyed everything this tour offered. This tour is a must for anyone coming to Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pricey

Reviewed by: Nonna, 2012/08/14

As there is a word "volcano" in the name, I sort of assumed I'd be seeing a volcano. And yes, I understand that I made a mistake booking the tour; however, it is easy for somebody who's never been to the islands to not exactly know where stuff is located. Perhaps, renaming the tour to "coast" helicopter tour would be better, just to be perfectly clear. The price is also a bit steep, though I suppose it is not any higher than other companies'.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: Ryan, 2011/05/23

I went with my family on the volcano deluxe tour out of Kona and it was awesome. The views were amazing and the staff was awesome. Because of the headphones you wear, the noise wasn't even as bad as I expected.

One thing to watch out for if you get motion sick though is that it can get you sick. I'm very susceptible to motion sickness and got sick even with a couple Dramamine pills before the flight (my family was 2/3 of people getting sick on the flight who are susceptible to motion sickness and both people who got sick were in the front of the helicopter). That said, I thought it was still very worth it even with getting sick.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Un Real!

Reviewed by: Thomas Ruocco, 2010/05/28

Well worth the price for this kind of experience! My wife and I have been on several different helicopter flights before in NY, San Fran, and Australia ... but seeing volcanic activity from a helicopter is more than just beautiful scenery it was breathtaking. I felt like we were on another planet at times. Thank you thank you thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pure magic

Reviewed by: Roberts Family Australia, 2009/10/20

We were blown away from the start to finish,the magnificance of the island is just unique starting from the hot arid black volcanic rock through to the volcanoe itself and then the beautiful coast on the hilo side to the luscious green valleys of the kings.
We went as a famiy and my children aged 12 and 13 were just as amazed.
Our pilot was great taking us in circles with a running commentry throughout the trip and hovering so that all of us would have plenty of time and sight of everything and plenty of time for photos although they never seem to do it justice.It was certainly the way to see a vast majority of the island,and as much at first glance of the price may make one a little hesitant it was worth every cent.
The only thing that was a bit expensive is getting out to the site itself costing around $90.00 Australian Dollars each way but that may be less if hiring a car or going as a group.Having said that I really dont think that after the experience it will really matter.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Montana Couple

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/03/07

It was just soooo cool. The Big Island is very big, and I think the helicopter ride is the only way to see most of the island. Do this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FANTASTIC FANTASTIC

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/10/03

Would highly recommend this to anyone. It's the best way to see the Big Island and volcanoes. Enjoyment Plus!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI