Dolphin Swim Excursion & Snorkel Ocean Rafting Adventure (from Waianae Harbor)

Em, Jenna and Paul- AMAZING!

Reviewed by: Danielle , 2017/08/28

Our experience from start to finish was exceptional! The shuttle ride started with a wonderful ride from Emanual- she was friendly and conversational, making our time feel like it was spent with a friend. She was knowledgeable about the Island and told us interesting things. She suggested we rent a car and we did- the next day! Thanks Em so worth it! On the boat Em and Captain Jenna were wonderful. Our teenager got a little sick but they didn't give up on her, with their words of encouragement and support we set sail. Our 8 year old was afraid and because of you two ladies she got in and snorkeled with an 80year old turltle. Words can express that magic of that experience! We are eagerly anticipating the pictures photographer Paul took. Your attention to detail and obvious dedication to your craft is remarkable. Thank you team dolphin excursion for loving what you do and sharing that with my family. Mahalo!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Danielle for your kind words and taking the time to share. I will alert Capt. Jenna, Emanuelle, and Paul to your review so they may fill their soul with candy. We hope to see you again! Lisa, Operations Manager for Dolphin Excursions Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin swim

Reviewed by: Debra Cooper, 2017/08/04

This activity was okay. It was hard to see the dolphins when they did swim near us underwater because we had to wear life vests which kept us at the surface. The snorkeling in this side of the island(at least the part we were taken to)is not as good as other parts. The crew was nice and the food at the restaurant was good. I was not happy that one of our fellow passengers took one of our beach towels. They belonged to the condo we were staying in and I had to replace it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling with dolphins and fish

Reviewed by: VScott, 2017/06/27

I'll start with the positive.

The crew is young and enthusiastic. Everyone had smiles and was helpful with the gear.

This is a great excursion for tourists and beginner snorkelers. Great vivews of the Eastern part of the island and a pleasant swim with sea life. The crew teaches everyone how to use the equipment and will help people in the water. They spend about 20 minutes at each site so, for experienced snorkelers, it can be a little dull.

The hotel pickup was on time and the driver was good. The van is new and the ride was smooth.

You will be visiting with Spinner Dolphins. They are small dolphin and swim in pods of 30. The captain knows their favorite spots and will make sure you get to swim with them. By law, you will need to be wearing a life jacket to do this part of the swim. We got to see two pods. It was delightful. This tour company was knowledgeable about dolphins and is conerned with their safety.

We stopped at two more snorkeling locations. The fist stop was a small cove and the second had turtles.

The lunch at the Spinner cafe was good. I had the breakfast burrito and it was tasty and well prepared. The menu is small but the portions are big. The pancakes looked really good.

The reason for my 3 stars is not the quality of the company but an incident I had. The crew should be better trained in basic fist aid. I ended up treating myself with the supplies I keep in my bag. After asking if I was okay, no one helped or checked on my for the rest of the trip.

I would recommend this for people visiting Ohau and beginner snorkelers.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. We are sorry to hear about your incident.
Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider to better serve future guests.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Professional trip

Reviewed by: Marjo, 2017/05/06

This trip was good. We got the feeling that We are in good, professional hands. The guide really knew what she was talking about (highly trained) what you don't see always. The boat was good to This trip. It was easy to see and go to the sea and safe, comfortable to sit while driving. The lunch was average and facilities quite poor but it worked okay. We did see dolphins but not so close. They We scared by other group and another boat. That was dissapointing. But We did see some whales also.


  • A little humps far away

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Excursion

Reviewed by: Fritzie Zamora, 2017/05/02

Had the best time! The entire family enjoyed! I so recommend this particular tour and admire the crew who made sure we had a great experience while respecting the environment.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommened

Reviewed by: Caleb, 2017/04/15

This is my second time and I will still recommend it to my friends.

Saw the dolphins up close and it was fun.

Very safe and effortless.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Experience of a lifetime

Reviewed by: Yang, 2017/04/12

Everything we hoped for and more. Check-in was fast and easy; they even have presc. Goggles. The staff (Capt Jenn and the two Nikki's) were helpful and provided excellent customer service. We saw dolphins, whales, and sea turtles.

Must do when in Oahu.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Excursion

Reviewed by: Ian, 2017/03/28

Skipper, photographer, and crew member were great and funny. Was a great experience and we were the first ones in the water so that was great.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend this tour

Reviewed by: Kelly - Sydney, 2016/12/24

We had an amazing time on our Dolphin tour. Staff were friendly and knowledgable. Loved that it was a small group, and we were able to swim with the Spinner Dolphins and Sea turtles. Also lucky enough to see Bottle Nose Dolphins and Humpback whales too. Only downside was getting a bit sea sick. The staff looked after my phone while I fed the fish and took a great selfie


  • Crew selfie while I fed the fish


  • Go pro selfie.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally worth it!

Reviewed by: Kami, 2016/11/11

The crew was great and so was the experience. I would recommend it if you are in the area.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a wonderful experience!!!!!

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/11/08

It was amazing to see these incredible creatures in their natural environment. I almost can't describe the feeling I felt when we were swimming above them.

The crew was amazing, educated, patient, and most of all incredibly organized they were and genuinely cared about the animals safety and well being. We were observers, not there to disrupt these amazing creatures.

This is one of the classiest tours I have been on and believe me I have been on a lot not only in our country but several others. You need to experience this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Susan for joining us and taking the time to write this awesome review. We look forward to your return! - Lisa

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Cory, 2016/10/10

The dolphin excursion was amazing. We learned so much about dolphins and enjoyed snorkeling with them. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They even have a photographer taking pictures. This is a must do activity and me and my children can't wait to go back and do it again.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your feedback and we appreciate you joining us. We look forward to your return. :) Lisa

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A awsome day

Reviewed by: Mark, 2016/08/27

The tour was great. We saw dolphins an turtles. Thanks to the whole team for this awesome experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2nd Time...Still AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

Reviewed by: Suzette Spilsbury , 2016/08/20

Hubbie and I experienced our 1st Hawaiian snorkel with this amazing team in Oct 2015, trip this Aug August we knew we had to stay with Dolphin Excursions...saw MORE THAN BEFORE! It was a Disney Movie...Finding Nemo in real life! SO GLAD TO HAVE USED DOLPHIN EXCURSIONS!!! No other company can give the same friendly, professional and helpful staff to make sure you WILL experience Spinner Dolphins and become almost a part of the Pod!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtles are still slow in the water, works for this activity..

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2016/05/30

First time doing this. Thoroughly enjoyed it between the dolphins and turtle. I found a turtle by my lonesome, shared with everyone, but I guess there was more action somewhere else. I swam with the turtle as it slowly rose up to surface to get a breathe of air that took no more than one second. Then it went on its way. I don't have pictures of that experience to share, but I did have a go pro recording the whole time. So I have that to take with me the rest of my life.
Needs to said, there is a catch. If you want more interaction with mammal sea life, there is another activity that gets your first hand, up close and personal. However you are in a control environment. Whereas this activity is in the ocean; wildlife, so more than dolphins and turtles to experience(depending on the time of year too).

If I am allowed to edit this post, and also allow to post a hyperlink to a YouTube video, I will post that turtle swim.


  • Right before we jumped in the water


  • Vast mountain landscape is something you can never get bored looking at


  • After we docked, looking east from the harbor.


  • Ditto

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

As advertised.

Reviewed by: Simon and Ivy, 2016/05/15

OK. Nothing special. It's as advertised. I would recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Robert P., 2016/01/24

We did the early excursion and were happy we did as our group only had 9 people and I felt we were able to see more activity. We rented wet suits since the water was just a bit cooler than our liking, and they worked great. The views on the way to the snorkeling spot are breathtaking as you see the sunrise behind a mountain range. We saw several whales and could hear their chatter in the water, an indescribable experience. We snorkeled with tropical fish, sea turtles, and dolphins. Then, we enjoyed a delicious lunch. Only wish we had more time.

The crew and shuttle driver were great! They even returned our beach towels, which we forgot at Spinner's. This excursion definitely under promised and over delivered.

We paid $50-$60 for the professional photographs, which was well worth it to us as it was impossible to capture everything. Can't wait to see them in a couple weeks!


  • Breathtaking!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphins! Dolphins! Dolphins!

Reviewed by: Karol Lisboa, 2015/11/06

Booking with VELTRA was really easy and fast, I gave them my information and they took care of the rest for me.

Dolphin Excursions Hawaii was also great! I had no problems with my pick up and
the boat crew was kind, friendly and helpful, they took many incredible pictures during the tour.

The West Side of the Island is beautiful. Snorkeling was amaaazing, we spotted so many dolphins, turtles and different species of fish. After the tour we had lunch at the Spinners Cafe, the food was very tasty.

I love marine life, especially dolphins, they are incredible animals! I had a lot of fun! This tour was the highlight of my trip.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Karol for joining us! It was our pleasure to introduce you to the West Side's wild life. We do hope you come out and see us again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day

Reviewed by: John Scott, 2015/08/09

We had an awesome time. We saw Dolphins almost immediately once on the water. I swear I had Dolphins swim under me and to see the little babies was great too. We saw turtles as well which is always great. The crew were great and informative. An all round excellent day and looking forward to the photos from Lexi.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for choosing to join us and we hope to see you again!!! -Lisa

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good but can get very dizzy

Reviewed by: Kate, 2015/03/09

The staffs were nice and the activity itself was priceless. But motion sickness can really get to you... most of the people on our boat were feeling sick after half an hour.. I was puking from the beginning to the end although I had preventive patch on me. So be sure to be in the best physical condition as possible in order to truly enjoy what the ocean has got to offer!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin excursions

Reviewed by: Lina, 2015/02/23

It was a good experience, recommend wet suit, and don't go too early, and take lots of anti nausea...

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Red Headed Sister's, 2014/10/04

The best excursion of our trip!! Dolphin Excursions staff are very educated and professional. Keep the customer in mind.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Red Headed Sister's for your review and joining us. We strive to have the most experienced crew that harbor a bit of magical luck on the side. Hope to see you guys again soon. :) Lisa, Operations Manager

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

uniquely hawaiian adventure

Reviewed by: marilyn, 2014/09/07

Awesome adventure! Truly enjoyed being on a boat being overseen by experienced and helpful staff. Saw turtles and dolphins and snorkled as they swam around us. Great lunch too

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

See the Baby Dolphins!

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/08/22

Timely pick-up, great folks, and tasty food. Oh, and did I mention dolphins! I thoroughly enjoyed myself and can say that this is by far the best dolphin snorkel I've been on. I got my gear within 5 minutes of check-in and put in my lunch choice. Dolphin Excursions is an educationally based tour company and some of the people there are marine biologists. They seemed to read the behavior of the dolphins very well. The baby spinner dolphins are super cute! This is a great time of year because the dolphins are having babies so they are fun to watch. We went out about 3 times to snorkel, twice with the dolphins so close. I have never seen so many dolphins with me in the water, and you can even hear them 'singing' before you see them. When we got back, lunch was already made. The food is great at Spinner's Cafe, and the people are courteous. I had a great time and can say that many others did as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best.Day.Ever.

Reviewed by: Chelsea Lee, 2014/07/15

It was bloody amazing. So worth the money. Do it, you won't regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolute Must! Best part of ou trip - kids two thumbs up!

Reviewed by: Tracey, 2014/07/01

Me and my two kids (20 and 21) went on this excursion with Mandy, Jenn and Allie (photographer)! This was the absolute best part of our trip. We enjoy snorkeling and had already visited Hanauma Bay - but this is 100x better than that.
We were fortunate to see bottle-nose dolphins as well as spinner dolphins and snorkel with all of them. Plus sea turtles, crabs and even an eel. Super clear water - absolutely wonderful. Perfect even for younger kids. Well worth the price - top notch crew!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphins !!!

Reviewed by: Peter Muth, 2014/05/03

Within 3 weeks in Hawaii packed with exciting excursions including helicopter flights, scuba diving and hiking, this was the initial reason to travel all the way from Germany - and it was worth it !!!
My wife always wanted to see those animals in the wild, and our guide dropped us right in front of a group of dolphins.
Wonderful - Great day out !!!

Reply from activity provider

Big mahalo for joining us and for your review! We do hope you "drop" in again and join us for another Dolphin Excursion. We value all guests and do love our return snorkel adventurers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Melissa McIntosh, 2013/11/14

We had a blast! It was the coolest experience we have ever had!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good times!

Reviewed by: Jami, 2013/11/10

The girls were very knowledgeable and friendly - Jenna even made a nest of life jackets for me in the bow to lay out and get some sun when I was done swimming! They took us to an area with plenty of dolphins to see, and a few were as close as 5 feet away!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: salejo, 2013/09/03

Mandy & Ali were great guides during the entire excursion. We arrived at our destination to pick our food options and grab our snorkeling gear. No restroom on the boat so please go before getting on the boat! You can bring your own drink & snack on the boat since lunch won't be til afterwards. We swam w/ spinner dolphins at our 1st spot. It was so amazing to see the baby dolphins! We explored the reef at our 2nd spot, which had so many different kinds of fishes. Ali swam to us w/ a starfish & other things for pictures & even explained to us what we were holding. After this, they took us out to see the spotted dolphins (Hawaiian name "kiko"). There were sooo many of them riding our waves, swimming under the boat, & flipping in the air. It was so amazing to watch. They explained they were hunting & they hardly see these dolphins. Afterwards, you go back to eat lunch then head back to your hotel. This was the highlight of my trip & I plan to do this again when I come back!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI