Star of Honolulu Waikiki Whale Watch Cruise (from Aloha Tower)

Awesomely amazing!!

Reviewed by: L. Burrell, 2017/02/22

My family went on this amazing trip expecting to see whales spray and slap their tails against the water. We did get that and so much more. We got to see at least two whales breaching numerous times and just playing, diving in and out of the water. It was so incredible. That early wake up was 100% worth it. The boat was very spacious and I really enjoyed the ride. The crew narrator was very informative and the whole crew, especially the captain were very professional. Highly recommend this outing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu whale watching

Reviewed by: Judith, 2017/02/19

Great things were the weather, water and warmth of the staff. Whale sightings were unfortunately few and at a great distance such that mostly splashes and puffs of water were seen only. Boat was nice, top deck offers the best views. Kids had fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch & Breakfast

Reviewed by: johnschettko, 2017/02/11

Excellent Crew involvement, Breakfast was good. No Whale sighting due too choppy water and high winds.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching Honolulu

Reviewed by: Jay Jay , 2017/02/07

This tour was very enjoyable. Even though we didn't get to see but one whale. The captain and crew made every effort to locate them. And we did encounter a whale but the whale didn't want to entertain us which is no fault of the crew. The boat ride itself was nice and relaxing. I would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Sightings, Beautiful Day, Delicious Food, Activities....FUN!!!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2017/02/03

I was so excited to see whales and I wasn't disappointed! Guaranteed indeed.
We saw a few pod of whales and it was always entertaining to watch them swim by and see their blows. I actually saw one that threw its tail out of the water up close when I was heading to the restroom, but very quickly that no one noticed it I think. I just got lucky, haha!
It was a nice cruise, great customer service from the crew, delicious food, and gorgeous views of the Waikiki coastline and Diamond Head! There were fun activities on board too like lei making, ukulele lessons, and hula lessons. I really enjoyed the trip! I was with a group of friends but as a mom, I would definitely recommend this for families with young children as well, it's a great activity for all ages so anyone are welcome!











Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would Definitely Go Again

Reviewed by: DannaJ, 2017/01/29

We got to see several whales and got some great pictures of breaches and blows. I was skeptical but was very happily surprised and would do it again next time I'm in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Bee, 2017/01/25

This was the first tour we took on our first trip to Hawaii in April of 2016. It was absolutely amazing. We had a good time on the Star of Honolulu except it was rather windy that day. Had a blast, regardless! There were several whale sightings but, not close enough to see them which was disappointing. The breakfast was fantastic. We spent time walking about the ship taking some wonderful photos. We would definitely book another cruise when we return again.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching

Reviewed by: La Von, 2017/01/24

This was the first tour I took on my first trip to Hawaii. It was absolutely amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Extremely Disappointing!

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2017/01/24

The overall cruise was extremely disappointing because throughout the entire cruise we saw a single whale spout either 4 or 5 times as it exhaled and a brief cloud of mist was observable for about 2 seconds. Because the spouts were so brief, I only actually saw 2 of them. However, technically, we did see a whale and were not eligible for a free re-booking.
I don't blame Star of Honolulu for the lack of whales - they are wild animals! But, I did expect more from them and am disappointed that seeing mist from a whale for a total of less than 20 seconds in a multi-hour cruise at least 100 yards away is considered a whale sighting.
Other than the lack of seeing whales - which was the entire point of going on the cruise! - the cruise itself is actually pretty good. The employees were very friendly, the food was better than expected (bring your own coffee though), and the views of Oahu from the ocean are gorgeous.
The ship is a bit dated and worn around the edges, but it was clean and offered a lot of indoor and outdoor viewing options. Because there are 4 decks, I never felt like it was crowded even though there were a lot of people on board.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the price.

Reviewed by: Joe, 2017/01/17

We didn't pay for the meal, instead we ate ahead of time. We had a nice time. Saw some whales, but not very close. Still it was worth the price for a morning out on the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI