Maui to Big Island: Black Sand Beach, Rainbow Falls & Volcanoes National Park

Overall Rating

4.574.57 / 5

Reviews

23 reviews (Post a review)

Very enjoyable

Reviewed by: Holly, 2017/02/18

Steve was a great guide. The food at the lunch stop was good, however the dinner stop location and food were not good at all.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour

Reviewed by: Jerry, 2017/01/13

This tour is aimed towards people that just want to ride in a bus and take pictures. If you want to get out and explore this is not for you. We had a good time and we did learn about the park and valcanos but we wanted to do more on the ground and not just ride around in a bus all day. We had 15 to 30min tops at each stop and 45min each for Lunch and dinner.

We did get lucky and see the Lava in the lava lake during the day but the fog rolled in for the evening glow.
Our next trip to the park will be solo so we can explore more of the park and hike around.



  • The Lava in the lake


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great day!!

Reviewed by: The Gilberts, 2016/07/28

YV was our guide. He was fantastic from the moment we met him till the end of our tour. I really can't say enough good about him. He was personable, kind, knowledgeable, and fun to be around. We all felt as if we were the most important people on the tour. He showed us amazing waterfalls, volcanoes, steam vents, lava tubes, new lava flows, beautiful black beaches, and even a little flowing lava! (our flight was too early to get a better look) YV went above and beyond to make sure our trip was memorable and fun. It was easy to tell he truly loves the land and has a heart for people that most simply do not. We cannot wait to make it back!! I would happily recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in volcanoes and who can do some moderate hiking. We wouldn't trade these memories for just about anything! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU YV!!!!!!!!!


  • Banyan trees, Water falls, rainbows and falling mangos!


  • Lava trees, fields, and curses!


  • Newest land in the world!


  • Smoking caldera. Its hard to see but center left is lava and we saw it spray up!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour and great value!

Reviewed by: Asia, 2016/05/01

The staff were very friendly and helpful. This volcanoes were worth the visit. We took book this trip from Maui. They arranged the package from Maui Airport to Hilo and the staff were there to pick us up right away to the tour bus. No stress and well informed!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a show

Reviewed by: Valerie, 2016/03/10

Steve was a great tour guide for our volcano park tour. He knows his stuff. Places we ate at were great too. It was a long day but it was filled with very interesting facts and scenery. Seeing the crater glow at night was fantastic! Thanks for a wonderful day.


  • Hot lava

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to share your experience on social media. And, if there is anything we can help you with while you are here, or on a return visit to Hawaii, or even if your family and friends who would like to visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. Let them know Jason told you!

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable Mauna Loa

Reviewed by: SandyB, 2016/01/03

We took the Big Island tour from Maui. It was one full day devoted to checking out the Volcano National Park including a flight from Kahului to Hilo airport. Actually standing on the dry, now cool lava, seeing the place where the lava falling in to the ocean has made an interesting arch, checking out a black sand beach, seeing beautiful forests and waterfalls was gorgeous. But what stayed most in my mind was the red glow from the crater of the active volcano Mauna Loa at night: the last stop before we flew back at night. One improvement worth considering: it was a one day tour therefore some of the lunch and dinner break time allotted could be reduced to spend more time on sightseeing. But overall well organized and an unforgettable experience.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to share your experience on social media. And, if there is anything we can help you with on a return visit to Hawaii, or your family and friends who would like to visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. Let them know Jason told you!

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2015/11/28

Even with bad weather we had a fantastic experience on this trip. We saw a ton of lava flow and steam vents and just had a great time.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review, Dawn! We're glad you had a good time despite the overcast weather :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great day!

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2015/11/18

Our tour guide was very informative and the park was fantastic! The small tour bus was brand new, clean, and very comfortable. Highly recommend this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your excellent review, Kathy! We're so glad that you enjoyed yourself :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island

Reviewed by: Lillie S., 2015/10/04

I t was an awesome trip to the Big Island. I can hardly wait to go back.
It was our best vacation we ever had.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the terrific review, Lillie! We're so glad you had a great time :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Jen T, 2015/08/13

Amazing! The experience was worth every penny. Our guide, Steve, was very knowledgable. We learned a lot and saw a lot. The only thing I didn't care for was the food selection for lunch and dinner, but I'm picky.


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review, Jen! We are always aiming to improve our guest's experience, so your feedback is genuinely appreciated :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI