Hana Highway Drive, Rainforest Hikes & Waterfall Swim (Easy to Moderate)

Amazing!

Reviewed by: D & T, 2017/04/15

We had a great experience! The waterfalls at the original hike were not flowing due to not enough rain so our guide took us to some alternate falls and they were amazing! The road to Hana was breath taking!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would Do This Hike Again

Reviewed by: rachgabe, 2017/04/06

This hike takes you through the rainforest side of Maui. Our guide, Sarah, was very knowledgeable. She was able to answer our questions about the plants and animals along our hike. The waterfalls were beautiful. The jumps into the pools were a lot of fun and the guides gave good instruction on jumping which made me feel confident. The food was substantial for the duration of the hike. We were provided bananas and pineapple, both which were delicious. I had the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, which was hearty for a PB&J. My husband had the turkey sandwich, and the slice of turkey was surprisingly thick making for a filling meal. Take advantage of the bug spray they provide. My husband didn't get bit, while I, not being as diligent with coverage, got a few bites. This was the last activity we decided to add to our itinerary and it turned out to be our favorite tour of our vacation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2017/03/17

Our guide Kate was very knowledgeable. Had a wonderful time. The hike was well paced for our family, ages 5-70.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Jody Degenhardt, 2017/02/20

If you want to sit back and relax and hear about the history of the island, then definitely book this tour! You get to experience the back side of the island, the hike is definitely worth the 1000ft climb, but it's not for beginners! It is muddy and there is rocks everywhere, so you definitely want good shoes and be able to hike uphill/steps for about 2 hours! The climb down only took about as hour but we didn't stop for any breaks! Tony was an awesome guide and if you are looking for a tour with waterfalls and history, do not hesitate to book this! Well worth the money!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Twin Waterfalls Tour

Reviewed by: Nova Scotia Friends, 2016/12/19

We had a very good time on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. More mud than expected but very enjoyable just the same.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very informative & beautiful

Reviewed by: Linda Mathias, 2016/10/22

our guide was very informative of the plants & trees which made it a treat as he picked fresh guava which we all ate, delicious! The trail was a little muddy as it had rained the night before, no big deal. The waterfalls were beautiful, but the water was murky because of the rain the night before. So, we didn't swim in the pools, but the guide more than made up for it due to his knowledge an histories of the area. Very much enjoyed the tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure.

Reviewed by: Jorge, 2016/09/14

Our guide George is a very cool and easygoing guy. He Made sure that we were having an awesome day and made us feel safe at all times.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana Rainforest Hike and Waterfall

Reviewed by: Dfree, 2016/04/30

Great adventure and the kids had a good sense of what a real hike involves!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best hike!

Reviewed by: Danielle Grey, 2016/03/06

Our tour guide josh was extremely friendly and personable. He seemed to know everything when it came to Maui and the environment in which we were hiking. The lunch was great and you couldn't beat the scenery! Would definitely refer a friend!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not a great experience

Reviewed by: Unhappy, 2016/02/22

First, once Veltra sells you something, they're done with you until they start pestering you for a review. The actual excursion was by Hike Hawaii. On the day of our trip, they called me at 6:30 AM to tell me that the kayak portion of our trip was cancelled due to high winds. We hadn't scheduled a kayak portion. So they called me at 6:30 AM because they don't have their crap together enough to know what their customers have signed up for. The excursion was basically a brief stroll through the woods, with a little fruit, a bottle of water, and a cookie provided. After paying hundreds of dollars for two of us, they actually cut the trip short and we got back 15 minutes ahead of schedule.

After that, Veltra has the nerve to send you email saying that they're expecting you're review. Not asking for one, just telling you how much they're looking forward to seeing it. There's no opt-out link for this, which I think actually violates certain standards. You have to jump through hoops to have your account removed, even though you never asked for an account to be set up in the first place.

They're pushy, presumptuous, and overpriced.

This review will never be seen because Veltra basically reserves the right to remove anything negative in their terms of use.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us. We work very closely with our activity partners to make sure that our clients are well cared for.

Unfortunately, your original requested date was not available for the short waterfall walk but in an effort to accommodate your request, Hike Maui offered to upgrade you to include optional kayaking and a complimentary lunch. Due to weather, the kayak portion was cancelled and although your lunch was packed, it did not make it to you on the trail. We accept complete responsibility for this mishap and would like to make it up to you with a full refund.

Your Hawaii experience is very important to us and we are sorry that the tour and process of booking did not meet your expectations, please accept our sincerest apologies.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI