Hana Highway Drive, Rainforest Hikes & Waterfall Swim (Easy to Moderate)

Short Waterfall hike

Reviewed by: Jaclyn , 2017/08/15

Our tour guide Isaiah was awesome and very friendly. He knew a lot about the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super hiking into rainforest

Reviewed by: Venky, 2017/08/01

This is my first visit to a rainforest and I was amazed.

We were picked up at designated location at 930 AM. We then changed to rubber shoes at the office and proceeded to hike. We were given breakfast and started the trail. Looks like it rained heavily the previous day and so we had to cross few streams on our way. The current in the streams were below our knee level but very strong. It was scary. The guide was very friendly, funny, knowledgeable and professional. So we did not have any difficulty. But it was awesome to see the falls full of water and strong currents in the streams. While we were told about occurrence of flash floods, I wonder what life would be in these situations. It was really wild out there, but you are with a professional.

I particularly enjoyed sliding in the water through a tunnel (the guide was there at the other end of the tunnel to stop me from being carried away by the current). My son (29) jumped 20 feet into one of the water fall, the guide showed us twice how to do that. We visited several water falls and I managed to stand under one of those 10 feet tall falls. The guide showed us several varieties of flowers, plants and fruits. We tasted some fruits, and had a good lunch break in one of the falls. The hike was not very difficult but also was not very easy. We returned to our car by 2 30 PM.

Many of the falls are not accessible to public and visiting with a professional is the best way to do it. I strongly recommend the hike to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time, Sarah was a wonderful tour guide

Reviewed by: Stacie, 2017/07/13

My husband, myself and our 11 year old nephew had a great time on our hike. Pretty much everything was as described. We got to go to 4 different waterfalls, got to jump into 3 of them, included a pretty hefty peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a bag of chips, native fruit, lots of water and bug spray provided, and a backpack to keep everything in! The hike was definitely more on the moderate side than the easy side, I would say. My husband and I are fairly athletic and we were both sore and tired at the end of the hike. The nature is amazing. I took about 200 photos. The information that Sarah shared with us was interesting and insightful. She was a very nice, patient and informative tour guide. She was friendly and made conversation, but was not in your face, or invasive when people didn't want her to be. She was also very helpful because she showed the people on the tour the correct places and ways to jump off the waterfalls. I think this helped with some of the anxiety people had. I definitely recommend this hike. It is a little pricey, but it was worth it, and you really get your money's worth. I ended up messing up one of my ears when I jumped off of the third waterfall we found, so the end of the hike wasn't as pleasant for me as the beginning was, but I think that was a random thing that happened. My 11 year old nephew jumped a total of 7 times off the different waterfalls and never really complained about anything except that he slapped his hands and arms on the water (which was more his own fault). The one thing I didn't like was the number of people that were at the waterfalls during our tour. That was something we couldn't really control. There are some "private" waterfalls that we got to see, which, obviously had less people, but still had other people there. I think if you have a choice, go on a weekday, and it might be helpful to go during an off season. We went the day after 4th of July, so it was probably pretty busy.




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: D & T, 2017/04/15

We had a great experience! The waterfalls at the original hike were not flowing due to not enough rain so our guide took us to some alternate falls and they were amazing! The road to Hana was breath taking!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would Do This Hike Again

Reviewed by: rachgabe, 2017/04/06

This hike takes you through the rainforest side of Maui. Our guide, Sarah, was very knowledgeable. She was able to answer our questions about the plants and animals along our hike. The waterfalls were beautiful. The jumps into the pools were a lot of fun and the guides gave good instruction on jumping which made me feel confident. The food was substantial for the duration of the hike. We were provided bananas and pineapple, both which were delicious. I had the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, which was hearty for a PB&J. My husband had the turkey sandwich, and the slice of turkey was surprisingly thick making for a filling meal. Take advantage of the bug spray they provide. My husband didn't get bit, while I, not being as diligent with coverage, got a few bites. This was the last activity we decided to add to our itinerary and it turned out to be our favorite tour of our vacation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2017/03/17

Our guide Kate was very knowledgeable. Had a wonderful time. The hike was well paced for our family, ages 5-70.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Jody Degenhardt, 2017/02/20

If you want to sit back and relax and hear about the history of the island, then definitely book this tour! You get to experience the back side of the island, the hike is definitely worth the 1000ft climb, but it's not for beginners! It is muddy and there is rocks everywhere, so you definitely want good shoes and be able to hike uphill/steps for about 2 hours! The climb down only took about as hour but we didn't stop for any breaks! Tony was an awesome guide and if you are looking for a tour with waterfalls and history, do not hesitate to book this! Well worth the money!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Twin Waterfalls Tour

Reviewed by: Nova Scotia Friends, 2016/12/19

We had a very good time on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. More mud than expected but very enjoyable just the same.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very informative & beautiful

Reviewed by: Linda Mathias, 2016/10/22

our guide was very informative of the plants & trees which made it a treat as he picked fresh guava which we all ate, delicious! The trail was a little muddy as it had rained the night before, no big deal. The waterfalls were beautiful, but the water was murky because of the rain the night before. So, we didn't swim in the pools, but the guide more than made up for it due to his knowledge an histories of the area. Very much enjoyed the tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure.

Reviewed by: Jorge, 2016/09/14

Our guide George is a very cool and easygoing guy. He Made sure that we were having an awesome day and made us feel safe at all times.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana Rainforest Hike and Waterfall

Reviewed by: Dfree, 2016/04/30

Great adventure and the kids had a good sense of what a real hike involves!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best hike!

Reviewed by: Danielle Grey, 2016/03/06

Our tour guide josh was extremely friendly and personable. He seemed to know everything when it came to Maui and the environment in which we were hiking. The lunch was great and you couldn't beat the scenery! Would definitely refer a friend!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not a great experience

Reviewed by: Unhappy, 2016/02/22

First, once Veltra sells you something, they're done with you until they start pestering you for a review. The actual excursion was by Hike Hawaii. On the day of our trip, they called me at 6:30 AM to tell me that the kayak portion of our trip was cancelled due to high winds. We hadn't scheduled a kayak portion. So they called me at 6:30 AM because they don't have their crap together enough to know what their customers have signed up for. The excursion was basically a brief stroll through the woods, with a little fruit, a bottle of water, and a cookie provided. After paying hundreds of dollars for two of us, they actually cut the trip short and we got back 15 minutes ahead of schedule.

After that, Veltra has the nerve to send you email saying that they're expecting you're review. Not asking for one, just telling you how much they're looking forward to seeing it. There's no opt-out link for this, which I think actually violates certain standards. You have to jump through hoops to have your account removed, even though you never asked for an account to be set up in the first place.

They're pushy, presumptuous, and overpriced.

This review will never be seen because Veltra basically reserves the right to remove anything negative in their terms of use.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us. We work very closely with our activity partners to make sure that our clients are well cared for.

Unfortunately, your original requested date was not available for the short waterfall walk but in an effort to accommodate your request, Hike Maui offered to upgrade you to include optional kayaking and a complimentary lunch. Due to weather, the kayak portion was cancelled and although your lunch was packed, it did not make it to you on the trail. We accept complete responsibility for this mishap and would like to make it up to you with a full refund.

Your Hawaii experience is very important to us and we are sorry that the tour and process of booking did not meet your expectations, please accept our sincerest apologies.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike: My family and I had an amazing day with Dawn as our guide on this excursion.

Reviewed by: Sharon SH, 2016/01/04

My family and I had an amazing day with Dawn as our guide on this excursion. She was knowledgable, friendly, smart, skilled, and funny! The excursion itself introduced us to the rain forest of Maui which was beautiful in its terrain and a bit challenging to navigate. Dawn gave us all the confidence we needed so we could rise to the challenges while being gracious to those who did not choose some aspects (cliff jumping) of the tour. Overall, it was a highlight of our entire Hawaiian trip. Dawn was fantastic. Lastly, the water shoes (available for a nominal charge) are a necessity.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Day

Reviewed by: Debz, 2015/12/21

This is my second time with this tour. Dawn was our guide, she is very friendly, funny, kind and knowledgeable about the area, the vegetation and the threats to the eco- system in Hawaii. She did some cliff diving, took us on an off the beaten path hike that was something I would never do, including going in twice into freezing water up to my chest. We were exhausted but it was an amazing day. The fresh fruit on the trip and the openness to do things that the group waned to do, such as stopping at both the black and red beaches and getting Hulihuli chicken was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rainforest and Waterfalls

Reviewed by: Stephanie, 2015/06/30

This activity was fantastic. Our tour guide, Bocker, was knowledgeable of the sites! He taught us so much. He also watched out for his group with care. The rainforest and waterfalls were absolutely breathtaking. Would do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful

Reviewed by: Samantha , 2015/06/09

So amazing and so fun. The tour guide was super informative. An absolute must.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful hike

Reviewed by: Denise, 2015/05/30

Ashley are tour guide was great and very knowledgable on the hike. My niece like that she was able to jump off the cliff into a pool of water. Just absolutely beautiful waterfalls!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hana Hike

Reviewed by: Lisa Piombo, 2014/10/17

Beautiful day lots of fun! Our guide Kate was the bomb...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice but not great

Reviewed by: Laura, 2014/09/27

The tour guide was great, friendly, informative and overall a nice guy. The tour was too much for what we received. The trek was moderate which was just right for us but the foliage was only fair. Also It was not helpful that this was a dry season, so waterfalls were not at their best. I wish I knew this before hand. At every stop were too many other people, locals and tourist. Lunch was meager, only sandwich and chips and water. Sandwich was pretty decent. If it was not for our great tour guide who was funny and knowledgeable, I would not have been happy. It was overpriced.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing hike and an amazing tour guide

Reviewed by: honeymooners, 2014/09/26

We loved Nick, our tour guide. He was not only knowledgeable, but fun and engaging. He made sure we are safe, and treated us with a great deal of hospitality. Surely, we would not have learned so much and been able to explore the terrains without this tour. It was awesome!!!

Reply from activity provider

We would like to Thank You for taking the time to give us your feedback about your tour and your guide Nick. We will definitely share this with Nick. We are thrilled that you loved every bit of it and hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: leita_marie, 2014/09/07

We did this tour on our honeymoon and it was amazing!! Makes for a long day but you see so much of the island. The tour guide knew so much information! Totally worth the long day!!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Jevons, 2014/08/16

The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. She is from Maui and told us a lot about the island. Swimming in the fresh water pond was fun! Highly recommend anyone who visits Maui to do this tour


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

hike

Reviewed by: diva, 2014/08/09

Best experience!!You learn a lot during the hike.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun hike, amazing waterfalls, great jump!

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2014/08/07

Krichelle took us out on the hike in Hana rainforest and it was amazing. She knew a lot about the farm and picked us a lot of fruit n avocados. The hike was amazing as I love running they the woods. She took us thru done private hike areas that you won't be able to go thru without a guide. Make sure to bring sunscreen n insect repellent!!
There were 4 falls that we visited n the swim in the falls were amazing. There was also one that we could jump into.
For those that are not as active, there are easier routes that krichelle instructed others to pass thru . All in all amazing experience and I would go it again,

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day

Reviewed by: Andrea, 2014/08/05

We had a fun day, our guide Glori was great :) She shared Maui's history and culture with us. We got far more than we expected!! We even got to try some fruit on our hike, a passion fruit, a strawberry....she also showed us the "shy" plant that opens and closes. I learned how to correctly pronounce some words and gained and understanding of their meaning. Glori also suggested some other places to see while in Maui such as Lahaina :) We are so grateful! Snacks, water, and a sandwhich were provided. I highly recommend!




  • Black sand beach, bamboo forest, and the waterfall we hiked to

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

can wait to go back

Reviewed by: Ara kahramanian, 2014/07/19

Our tour guide was ERic and he was EXTREMELY knowlegable about ALL the plant life and its benefits and uses in the rianforest. I loved jumping off the 10-15 foot waterfalls and eating the fresh fruits

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All day trip to Hana Town

Reviewed by: dizzylizzy, 2014/04/20

Marco was terrific - lots of interesting history and stories; the weather played along too. I would highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your rave review! We'll make sure Marko gets a copy. Looking forward to hiking with you gain. The Hike Maui Team.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Waterfalls

Reviewed by: Ed E., 2013/12/28

The scenery was beautiful! Our tour guide was a local who shared her knowledge of the flora and fauna. The hike is not difficult but can be challenging in places. Wear good shoes! The waterfalls were spectacular and their pools provided a welcomed opportunity to oool off.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Was the BEST! Our tour guide Sonya was absolute amazing, so knowledgable und very nice. Also we learned so much about the history of Hawaii. Her friendliness made it to the best events we did on Maui.We would absolutely do it again! Mahalo

Reviewed by: Thomas, 2013/10/28

Was the BEST!
Our tour guide Sonya was absolute amazing, so knowledgable und very nice.
Also we learned so much about the history of Hawaii. Her friendliness made it to the best events we did on Maui. We would absolutely do it again!
Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI