Haleakala Sunrise & Daytime Downhill Bike Ride Tours

Well organized and very safe

Reviewed by: happy customer, 2017/08/28

These guys are very good and professional. Some may think it's a little slow going down but it needs to be so no one gets hurt. They take our safety very seriously and it shows.
I would recommend them. Very pleasant and educational adventure!
Make sure to bundle up, it get mighty cold at the top!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't do it in the rain!!!!

Reviewed by: kmd, 2016/07/22

The tour guides did an awesome job. Very informative and interesting people. Going up to the summit was great. The guides were very willing to take pictures for everyone and make sure everyone was comfortable. The 2 star rating comes from riding bikes down the volcano in the pouring rain. The rain made it difficult to see and make the road slippery. Instead of stoping the tour and rescheduling everyone, we continued in the pouring rain. My bike ended up slipping and I lost my balance and fell down on the ground. I bruised up my both hands and both knees, and scraped my elbow and knee pretty bad. My husband and I are thankful because things could have been much worse. I feel like if we had better weather conditions, everything would have been fine.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride with beautiful views!

Reviewed by: Tara Hall, 2016/07/03

What a fun excursion! If you like to bike....this is definitely the tour for you! Great ride down Haleakala with gorgeous views! Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala bike tour

Reviewed by: Floyd Wilson, 2016/06/24

Tour was wonderful, beautiful sunrise, great tour guides, but much shorter than the last time down the volcano. Overall a great tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui downhill

Reviewed by: Mark, 2015/11/08

What a wonderful highlight. After a disappointing sunrise due to poor weather, we were so pleased to have done the ride. It was well run done in a safe and fun way and even the brunch stop was a great way to sample the local food.



Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the review! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, even if Mother Nature wasn't on our side that day. Maybe you can join the returnee club--and do our ride again! A hui hou (until we meet again)!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala downhill sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Mindy McKnight, 2015/07/23

Most amazing experience in HI! Loved the crew going to and during the trip!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First light summit tour Haleakala downhill bike

Reviewed by: Reeder, 2015/02/01

Great guides from resort during and back to resort. Happy , safty conscious and informative . Awesome experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing and freezing experience

Reviewed by: Stcloudv , 2014/11/21

It's a great experience for us. They picked us at hotel at 2am and provided some snacks and coffee . It's really freezing waiting on the summit for the sunrise. After that, the biking is safe and sound.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Caitlin Stein-28 yrs, 2014/07/16

My husband and I recommend this to everyone!! Special thanks to Steve and Noah our guides!! It is worth it to get up so early to see the beauty of this island and the sun. We had perfect weather and temps (52 F). Sometimes it gets too cloudy up there to see anything and with the wind chill it can be freezing! This company provides you with gloves, pants, windbreaker, and helmet & bike. Dress warmly and wear the gloves. We got there earlier than other companies so we had the perfect view! There is a visitor center if you get cold but your pictures won't be as good.

The bike ride itself was thrilling and so beautiful. You mainly go downhill with a couple of spots where you need to pedal. I hate going fast and have a fear of heights but I wanted to do this excursion. Mahalo to Steve for helping me with those tight curves! We felt very safe because Noah & Steve communicate via walkie talkies. We stopped at a lavender farm which was lovely. The lavender tea and scones were delicious. We had breakfast too-banana pancakes and a breakfast sandwich-everything was so flavorful and yummy.

We had a great time and this excursion was my husband's favorite part of our trip! Visit Noah's cafe, Coconut's Fish Cafe-BEST fish tacos on the whole island!!



  • Big helmets!


  • Bikes used

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scenic ride down the mountain.

Reviewed by: JamesD, 2014/07/05

Sunrise on the mountain was OK, but very cold. Dress warmly and arrive early to get a good view. Bike ride down the mountain was beautiful, but shorter than I would have preferred. Silverlining for the day was our guide. Robo made this part of our trip memorable and enjoyable. He answered all our questions and more. Would sign up for another of his tours in a heartbeat. Also got to see rare view of silversword starting to bloom.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Downhill bikeride

Reviewed by: Carl & Sarah Aamodt, 2014/04/10

We found Maui Downhill Online and was very pleased with the experience. We got picked up from our hotel then they drove 11 of us up to Haleakala National Park for sunrise. You'd better dress warm because it was so freezingly cold with wind chill. The Mt bike downhill was great. Steve was an excellent tour guide. We had a wonderful time with him providing safety, local happenings and nature. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone!!


  • Sunrise at Haleakala.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome all the way

Reviewed by: Tony, 2013/12/28

Great tour guide on bus and on the bikes -- awesome!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

no pedaling required

Reviewed by: newbie to scuba, 2013/12/12

The peak was chilly and windy. Waiting for the sun rise was quite a torture. I guess if you have to do this one time in your life it would be ok. But never again.

The bike ride was a disappointment for me because there was almost no pedaling involved. I was hoping for some exercise.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Early morning, great bike ride

Reviewed by: SharonMW, 2013/11/26

What an experience. Early morning pickup at out hotel (2:30AM), to meet up with other tour folks. Snacks,clothing and gear, and we set off for the summit. Douglas our tour guide was awesome. He gave us specific insturctions for where to view the sunrise, and boy did we appreciate it. The wind was cold and strong, but since Douglas gave us the clues for the best spot to view, we stayed out of the wind. The safety instructions for the bike ride, and the bike guide were great. I could do the ride down over, and over again. Simply put, best way to enjoy the views that Mauii has to offer.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

to short

Reviewed by: fiegea, 2013/09/23

It was nice beeing on the volcano for sunrise, indeed spectacular. I expected a longer ride down the mountain. But it was worth for the views.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and interesting ride!

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2013/09/09

Had a great time on the ride down. My wife was nervous about the ride, since she is not very experienced, but she had no problems and it was one of the highlights of our trip!
I liked the fact that they stopped for pictures and used our camera. Usually, they take your picture and charge a huge amount.
Great tour overall, it had all age groups and it was very informational.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a view

Reviewed by: Phil, 2013/06/27

This was a great family event. I was concerned leading up to it about our safety, etc., but the guides were not only very knowledgeable about the mountain and the island, they took every step to insure our safety as long as we could ride a bike. The day we went was clear enough that we could see all of Maui as we road down the hill, most days are not like that. The sunrise was painful to wake up for (we were picked up at 2:20am), but it was beautiful and I would definitely recommend seeing the sunrise.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Phil,

We are so glad that you enjoyed our bicycle safari! Yes, the pick up time is pretty early in the morning, but, with a breath taking view of the island from such a high altitude is so worth it. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future. Tell your friends!

Mahalo,
Maui Downhill
Reservations

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Lightning66, 2013/03/03

My wife and I booked the sunrise/bike tour on our 2nd day in Maui. This helped with the acclimation to the 4-hour time difference in getting up at 2:30am. K & Shane were great and we had an outstanding time. Although some clouds came in at the last second and blocked the sunrise, it still was an incredible experience that we will do again the next time we are in Maui. Oh, by the way, when they say bring layers, listen! It gets cold up there with the wind and rain.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lighning,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your bicycle safaris with Kaulana and Shane, they are only a few of the great crew members we have on board at Maui Downhill. We do recommend to all of our guests to dress in as many layers as possible, it get's down to 30-40 degrees on the summit, freezing! We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Mahalo,
Maui Downhill
Reservations

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome time

Reviewed by: chrisdick7@hotmail.com, 2012/11/02

What a great day. From the time we were picked up at the hotel by" Howie from Maui" until he dropped us off we loved it. Howie and Mike were terrific. The stories, trivia and general knowledge of the area was incredible. They went out of ther way to to take photos, answer questions and attend to anyones need. they really went the extra mile. Oh yeh, the scenery was incrdeible. We took the day time ride and there wasn't a cloud in the sky on the ride to the top. The summit was sunny and 60. The ride down was fun and exilerating. After the ride we stopped at a local golf club for lunch which was unexpected but welcome as we were all hungry. The lunch was very good and very reasonably priced. Highly recomend, Have a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Adventure

Reviewed by: Charlotte Shovestul, 2012/10/22

This trip was amazing. It's cold at the top, so be prepared. The sunrise was beautiful, and the bike trip was awesome. The guides were knowledgeable and a lot of fun. Would definitely do this a second time.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breakfast

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/15

The only thing in the whole tour that was upsetting was the "continental breakfast" a muffin and a choice of coffee or hot coco those not fall under that. For the price of the activitie, they need to feed their guest who wake up at 2:00am a better breakfast.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Downhill

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/27

Awesome experience! Beginning with the sunset and ending downhill... Nothing else to say! Wonderful experience, not to miss in Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WAKE UP - IT'S SUNRISE TIME!!!

Reviewed by: George, 2012/08/13

If you can get yourself out of bed to join this tour for a 2AM pick up......DO IT!!!! Our guides (Jesse and Ben) were terrific from start to finish. They were cheery (at 2AM) and just as cheery and fun at the finish.

They get you there early enough to get a great spot to view the sunrise. They will even give you warm wear (if you don't have your own) so you don't get too cold waiting for the sun.

We had a perfect spot right next to the entrance to the Visitor Center. As the sky brightened, you could see you were now above the clouds. If you've never seen a sunrise above the clouds, this is your chance.

After the sunrise, we left the park to begin the Downhill part of Maui Downhill. Excellent guides to make sure the group was safe (from crazy cars) along the way. 16 miles and thousands of feet down later, you get back in the van for the final trek back.

And it's the best exercise you can get.....NONE.....as it's all downhill....... :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blissful Ride

Reviewed by: Nichole T, 2011/08/20

We had a great time on this tour - was really cold at the top of the mountain but a totally blissful ride! Really loved the crew that took care of us and will do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/23

It was a lot of fun, but it was kinda expensive.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Bike tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/10/31

I thought the bike ride was uneventful. The ride was pretty quick (new rule not able to go down from the crater site) The best part was the staff of jessie and shane. They were hysterical!!! This I felt was more family oriented activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2010/09/29

The tour guide on the bus and our guides down the mountain were very professional and fun. The sunrise was beautiful, everyone should do it while in Maui. The bike ride was all downhill and relaxing. We went slow which was good since those roads have lots of curves and I am not an avid bike rider. If you haven't been on a bike in years, maybe you should skip it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui down hill

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/07/18

Our guides Alan and Rico Swavay were excellent. The ride could have been longer and a faster pace. The views were spectacular and the guides very informative. I learned alot about Maui that day. I'm glad my son and I did it but I don't think I would feel the need to do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Sunrise!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/28

Thank you to Kirk & Maui Downhill for this once in a lifetime experience! We are so glad we did this trip, and it was much easier than I had imagined it would be ... I'm not a particularly active person. The bike ride downhill was beyond words, a thrill, and so so beautiful! I recommend this to anyone staying on Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunrise Ride

Reviewed by: Doug Wolford, 2009/08/06

We loved it. Biker Dave and TJ were a great team. We truly enjoyed the experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI