Haleakala Volcano Sunrise Excursion & Upcountry Maui Sightseeing Tour

Overall Rating

4.884.88 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews (Post a review)

Excellent Experience and Value

Reviewed by: Sandra , 2017/02/19

Smooth and efficient pick up (@3:30 am! ) great drivers and a super tour guide/driver (windy roads all the way up to the 10,000 ft elevation summit) topped off with an amazing view and lifetime experience. A lovely light breakfast provided midpoint in the drive and a delicious breakfast after leaving the volcano (lots of choices) at a restaurant in a historic town. The guide was very knowledgeable about Hawaiian history, culture, geogra and plants seen during the drive. If you can only do 1 tour in Maui, this is the one!


  • Sunrise photo at the summit of Haleakala volcano

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Family from VA , 2017/01/06

Tour was easy to book and well organized!
Kimo, our guide, was entertaining and informative!! He did a great job sharing his experience and knowledge of Maui.

Pastries/coffee before sunrise were great and breakfast on the way down gave everyone a chance to reflect on the beautiful sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time ever!

Reviewed by: Steve, 2016/10/23

Worth getting up at 2.30am for this. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learnt so much about the culture, history and fauna in the area. Best part was early morning breakfast pastries and coffee at the summit courtesy of our tour guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

sunrise trip

Reviewed by: Cindy P., 2015/11/18

This is one that you do not want to drive on your own. It is best to book your trip with a group. When we booked ours with a group they do a great job of showing some extra places to go and stopped at some shopping places. Our tour person did a wonderful job explaining what you will see and took you around to the different areas and explain what you were looking at. I think his name was Steve very patient and gave us a lot of information along some shopping spots and what to buy. Dress warm it can get cold for a little while in morning i bought a throw but maybe a big towel from the hotel might work. Breakfast was really good and some great choices. They also served a snack with choices of a drink. Tour guide did a good job also taking pictures with me and my spouse. You can do it on your own but i think you would miss a lot of extras. Thank you for a wonderful time and memories . It is also nice to take a nap when you get to the bottom and don't have to drive.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Tara, 2015/09/19

Informative and absolutely breathtaking. Our tour guide, "Sally", was excellent.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely stunning!!

Reviewed by: Christine, 2015/08/23

Was picked up from Kihei hotel at 2:30am on Aug. 18. It is quite early but was worth the lack of sleep and every penny. Sunrise was stunning!! They do a little chant before the sun shows up, which sounds really cool. After the sunrise, you get to tour around the mountain to take pictures of silverswords and perhaps the Big Island you can see in a clear day.
As for how cold it is up there, I am pretty warm blooded, so I thought it wouldn't be much of a big deal. Oh boy was I wrong! The temperature itself isn't too low, but keep in mind that up in 10,000 ft. the wind slashes at you in all directions and that you need to keep standing there for at least an hour if you want a good spot for beautiful pics. I even saw people wrapped up in thick blankets (not the thin ones but the fluffy ones for bed) and padded outerwear. So do prepared! :)
Oh and the breakfast afterwards was okay. For the last stop the guide takes you to a local market so that you could shop for souvenirs.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: San and Chris, 2015/06/30

We very much enjoyed this tour - well planned, good execution, very knowledgeable and friendly guide...and the weather cooperated! We saw a beautiful sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cold, but quite a view

Reviewed by: Titan, 2015/06/01

It was really nice to have someone else drive so early in the morning, plus having coffee and a lite breakfast. The sunrise itself was nice, the clouds slowly poured into the crater, slightly reminding you of a waterfall. Bring a camera that takes good night/dark pictures!

The site itself was cold and somewhat crowded, but thankfully we got there early enough to get a decent place. The driver/tour guide (Stephen) was great, very knowledgeable and had a perfect mix of professionalism and humor, without being stupid or annoying. Breakfast at Casanova's was very good.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI