Horseback Ride Tour Through Waipio Valley

Overall Rating

4.904.90 / 5

Reviews

10 reviews (Post a review)

Horseback ride!

Reviewed by: Kali, 2017/05/24

This was one of our favorite adventures during our time in hawaii! Our guides were awesome and we loved getting to see the beauty of the Waipio Valley while riding horses! Highly recommend this for anyone who loves the outdoors and loves a good adventure!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our favorite vacation day!

Reviewed by: A. Durnell, 2017/03/02

This was truly a magical day in Hawaii. Waipio Valley is one of those places best seen through the eyes of someone local. This is not merely a tour, but more of an invitation to visit the valley as a guest and get the grand tour from people who truly love it and want you to as well. The horses are happy, healthy, well cared for individuals with personalities and this trail ride is not the dull, narrated nose to tail variety often found in tourist areas. You won't have a "canned" speech and your horses won't be falling asleep from having done a monotonous walk they have done a million times with no hope of change. We left feeling like we really learned a lot from our hosts, who live in the valley, love and know it well, while having seen some of the most spectacular scenery on the island. The snapshot of the view from the lookout point is certainly gorgeous, but go the extra mile and take a ride into the valley to see the taro, the waterfalls, the wild horses, the freshwater streams and amazing landscape. You won't be disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience

Reviewed by: Deb Morris, 2016/12/26

It was my first time on a horse for decades and thanks to the wonderful guides and calm horses, i never felt safer. The scenery is fabulous and the guides have a huge and amazing knowledge of the valley, its inhabitants whether human or animal, as well as the plentiful edible plant life. They really made the trek perfect. Highly recommend whether a first timer or an experienced rider, you will not regret it.


  • Our guide leading the way


  • Getting ready to match horses with riders

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Riding Fin

Reviewed by: Grace, 2016/05/23

My sister and I had a great time exploring the Waipio Valley on horseback. The guides wet very friendly and informative regarding the area. The horses were well behaved. It's a must do activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Way to Visit Waipeo Valley

Reviewed by: David Case, 2015/09/04

Horseback is maybe the best way to experience the Waipeo Valley. Our guides and horses were very experienced. My only critique is that I wish we'd had more time to talk with the guides-- maybe even after we got back to the stables. It was also a good value for the money, but I'd have paid more for some extra time with them.


  • A Waipeo Afterrnoon

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the kind review!!! We are so glad you enjoyed your ride with us and sorry you didn't get more time with the guides! Hope we see you again in the future!! Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

May 2015

Reviewed by: Diane Norton, 2015/05/22

Great experience! Amazing scenery. Guides were entertaining, knowledgeable, made us feel welcomed and comfortable with the whole experience. Highly recommend!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Hawaiian Ride, with a Local Hawaiian !

Reviewed by: Stephanie C., 2014/12/19

This is the best hawaiian experience ever…I have done this twice! Not the typical tour, a local hawaiian Mika, takes you on a personal tour, with local folklore about the menehunas, he shows the local fruit, plants, how the hawaiian grew the taro plant..and then we can eat and taste the local fruit. I ride horses, and have ridden many a tourist rides, all over my travels, but this my favorite, the spiritual Waipio Valley with a local guide. Local horses (and you ride by wild mustangs in the valley) amazing to see.! ,Even my co-worker, from NY who has never been on a horse, loved it and feeling so close to nature and the culture. I will go on this ride every time I come to Big Island!
My favorite Hawaiian experience..you feel very connected with the culture, and nature.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Always and excellent adventure!

Reviewed by: JSL, 2014/01/23

This was my 4th adventure with Waipio on Horseback, and as always, the guides / handlers and the horses were the best! Despite the frequent rains in Waipio Valley, the horses are in wonderful condition and well matched by the guides based on the skill of the rider from novice through advanced rider. The horses and the valley make for a great adventure and enjoyment in a very special environment.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What waterfall?

Reviewed by: Peggy, 2013/10/13

My daughter and I really enjoyed horseback riding through Waipio Valley. Just be warned that if it is the dry sesson, you won't see any waterfalls. We did see lots of water though in addition to taro fields, wild horses and plenty of beautiful scenery. Our guides, Dava and Robert were entertaining, yet professional. I highly recommend this tour, as many people try to hike down into the valley and don't get far. Then they have to walk back up that very steep road! One warning. Do wear long pants or some sort of insect repellant. We were told there were no mosquitos but my daughter and I both returned with lots of bites.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Trails

Reviewed by: Partyof10, 2013/08/31

Stunning beauty and fascinating cultural legacy! We had been before with another company. Both were equally as great, but we didn't book ahead this time. Online-no luck...but when I called the 800 number, Reid Oshiro w Veltra helped with concierge service. Booked my party of 10, emailed and phoned me to confirm, etc. Reid, you were our hero of our week on Hawaii! Before or after your HB trip have lunch at the local pizza place in Waipio and shop the couple of nick-nack shops. Ten mins from trails. Really great food! Nice day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI