Waipio Valley Mule-Drawn Wagon Tour

Wild Ride

Reviewed by: Jessie, 2017/03/05

We went down to this Valley and the carriage driver knew everything about everything we came across. It was very nice and the horses were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Okay, not great

Reviewed by: Fred Andrews, 2017/02/14

It was okay but not great. It really amounted to a van ride down the steep hill, after which the mules took over. The explanations were pleasant. We were disappointed that we did not take the track to the ocean. Maybe we should have booked a horse ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Option

Reviewed by: Joan, 2016/08/22

I have wanted to experience Waipio Valley since I moved here three years ago and so was looking forward to this trip that one of my friends found online and organized. It was fine. We three were surprised that the tour on the wagon was as short as it was. The gal driver was great in her enthusiasm and information. I would have thought we would have seen more and spent more time in the valley. If you do not want to walk up or down (which we were very glad we did not have to do), then this trip is an option since they take you down and up in a van. The van was older without AC and the driver left the sliding door open for air. Not sure I would want to get back in that vehicle since great brakes are the most important feature and I did not have confidence that this was that up-to-date.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Joan,

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are currently verifying with the activity provider as to whether the door remains open during the ride down the valley. We will get back to you as soon as we hear back from them.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mule Wagon Tour

Reviewed by: Donita, 2016/08/05

It was a very interesting tour. The tour guy was very knowledgeable. We learned a lot about the vegetation and history of the valley.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Mule-Drawn Wagon Tour

Reviewed by: Leinani, 2016/02/06

My friend and I both enjoyed the tour very much. He picked us up on time, drove us into the valley where we got on the wagon. He was very knowledgeable about what we were seeing and answered our questions. We enjoyed the open air of the wagon and it was all good.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Liked the tour

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/01/05

The valley is so beautiful. Bob is a great tour guide. We all love him.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/01/05

Our family enjoyed the tour very much! It's amazing looking at the beautiful island and volcano. Kids are so excited. I think the memory will stay with them for ever.

Thanks!

Reply from activity provider

thank you so much for joining our tour and posting the review!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

waipio valley wagon tour

Reviewed by: burt yaste, 2015/02/24

expected it to be cancelled because of rain and heavy fog. could not
see any of the waterfalls that we saw on a previous trip.
the driver said it is usually 95 per cent sunny down here so why are
we going today? Just Asking!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipo Valley

Reviewed by: David Wright, 2014/08/08

A good experience,our guide Bob was knowledgeable and had a clear understanding of the history of the Valley and the plants that grew there. A steep hill ride down in the 4x4 van was an experience in itself. I would recommend this as a way to explore the deeper valley in a n unusual way.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip at a leisurely pace

Reviewed by: Les, 2014/07/20

Great guided tour of the valley. Very knowledgeable guide. There are Mosquitos so bring some bug repellant. Also wear tennis shoes. You will not be disappointed in this beautiful valley.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mules and a guide who lives in the valley

Reviewed by: The Shepherds, 2013/12/27

We had not seen Waipio Valley except from the overlook. Before the trip, we were not aware of the possibility of seeing Waipio from a mule-drawn wagon (after the hair-raising ride to the bottom in a 4-wheel drive van). We loved it. The guide had plenty of history and agricultural information to share as he and the mules pulled us through the roads and fords to get well up the valley away from the mouth of the river flowing through the valley. The tour is about 45 minutes and does not include the black sand beach, due to restriction on tours in that area. Photography is oddly difficult from the wagon, but the tour was enjoyable and enlightening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mule Ride

Reviewed by: Dave Hall, 2013/12/12

Very neat activity in Valley of the Kings. Beautiful scenery and great guide who was vey knowledable about the valley.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wagon Tour

Reviewed by: Beverly , 2013/03/06

With few options to actually descend into the valley, this was a pretty good one. The guide/driver was knowledgable and friendly. The kids, 2 & 6, had a very good time. We were visited by some of the wild horses, which was exciting for everyone. The only improvement I can think of would be is the route were a loop and not just "down the road and back."

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2012/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our wagon tour was great

Reviewed by: Jerry Ray Callen, Jr, 2013/02/02

Our wagon tour was great. Our guide could not have been better. She lives in the valley. I loved being shown around by someone local. It was beautiful! Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sunshine, 2012/12/22

Excellent customer service! Our guide was so knowledgable and inviting. The trip was so much fun. What a great way to see and learn about the Waipio Valley, than with folks that live there.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wagons ho!

Reviewed by: hotgpa, 2012/10/04

What a wonderful way to experience this unique area of the island. Bob was a great guide and the views were spectacular, the only clear view of the tallest waterfall on the Island. I wish a trip to the black sand beach had been part of the experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

waioio valley wagon tour

Reviewed by: jack17, 2012/10/03

the waipio valley tour was enjoyable. very different that the commercialized tours on the big island...no gift shops just taking in the clean fresh air and views of this gorgeous valley...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is a very short ride

Reviewed by: Mead Family, 2012/08/16

The ride down into the valley in the 4x4 van was quite beautiful and thrilling on the one lane road which is very steep. The wagon ride itself was very short and leaves you thinking was that it for the money?

If you are traveling with the young or the old you will not be able to go into this valley any other way as I would not recommend you drive there yourself even in a 4x4. The only other way in is to walk and it is very steep walk.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

totally unique

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/20

My family really enjoyed seeing the breathtaking views and learning more about how Hawaii was in the past.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Tours on the Big Island

Reviewed by: Gene From Texas, 2012/07/12

This is one of the best tours on the big island. I did not have high expectations before the tour. I thought it would be a just a ride through the valley. It was way more than that. The ride in the van just to get down to the valley is something else. The guide was excellent having lived his whole life in the valley. It is a very educational tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/12

We have been down to Waipi'o before, but the rest of the group had never been there. The children thoroughly enjoyed it. The driver/guide was well informed, though somewhat unenthusiastic, but I can only imagine how many times he has repeated the same litany. The trip seemed rather short, considering the cost. It would be nice if it could traverse a loop rather than down the road and back. We were visited by a small group of the Wiapi'o wild horses, which was exciting for all of us. With few ways to actually visit the valley, this was a nice one.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley Wagon Tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/14

Wonderful experience with knowledgable and experience driver. Would highly recommend this activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley - a joy to see.

Reviewed by: Fred, 2012/02/21

Seven or 8 years ago my wife and I enjoyed a wagon ride through the Waipio Valley. Our daughter and her family were on The Big Island with us this year and we thought they would enjoy the same. Well this trip ventured further into the valley, had a very informed driver, and exceeded our previous trip by far. We would recommend it to other families to enjoy a visit to this unique valley in this manner.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!

Reviewed by: Vista Jeannie, 2011/08/25

This is a fun experience.
The young man/tour guide who was raised in the valley, shared so much knowledge with us; the history, the topography, the flora and the fauna....he was GREAT, and the experience I'm sure would not have been as educational and fun if he were not a part of it.

PLEASE pass on to him just how much we appreciated his commentary......his attention to safety was also noted.






Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wagon ride could be a little longer

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/10/29

For the money we payed there should have been less time getting the mule ready when we got to the bottom they should of been ready to go. The wagon trip was very informative but for the money we paid it wasn't long enough. The trip down the hill was very good. Over all I liked the whole experience. Just needed the wagon part to be longer.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

See the real Hawaii

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/08/24

This trip is recommended if you can't hike into Waipio or ride on horseback to see. We had a family with two small children visiting, so this was a perfect way for our guests to see and understand some of Hawaii -- botanically, geologically, culturally -- authentically. This trip is for people who want to get off of the beaten path and are genuinely interested in hearing native Hawaiians discuss their culture and their land.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome scenery, great guide!

Reviewed by: Randy and Cyndi, 2009/07/21

This very pleasant tour gave us a unique look at some awesome scenery that is hidden away deep in the Waipio Valley. The wagon was surprisingly comfortable, and the mules were photogenic! Even though it rained quite a bit, we didn't get very wet. Our guide was a resident of the valley himself, and his family had lived there for several generations. He was both entertaining and informative. Don't miss this opportunity to see a piece of genuine Hawaii up close!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

unique experience

Reviewed by: jerry, 2009/01/18

What a unique experience!
The 4x4 drive to the stable offers breathtaking views of the valley and a few heart fluttering moments as you decend the one lane road.
The wagon ride is a unique way to experience the valley.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

unique Hawaii experience

Reviewed by: Judy, 2007/12/07

Great fun - very different from other Hawaiian activities. However, be aware that they do not go over to the beach. We all thought it was great fun - this is not for the "high end shoppers club" - this is for those that want to experience the "real Hawaii"!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeffery Cavallaro

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/11/26

This is a "must do" alternative for family members that cannot do the horseback ride into the valley. I took my 4-year-old on the ride while the rest of the family did the horseback tour. You see all of the same sights and the guides are very knowledgable. The mules are a bit stubborn. But the real star is the valley - one of the most unique and beautiful places in the world.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI