Mauna Kea Summit Sunset & Stargazing Tour

Amazing

Reviewed by: Minnesota2017, 2017/02/18

I had a great time, over the clouds and under the stars. This is a must see in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing views and breathtaking!

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2017/02/05

From the top of Mauna Kea you truly see forever. However, be prepared! At these heights it is also breath taking... that is, there is less air up there!! The guides were great and prepared you for the trip in every way. The dinner was good and the star gazing after coming half way back down was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I finally see the milky way!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Trina Sung, 2016/08/13

Our guide is David and he was very kind and informative. He provided a lot of island guide and knowledge of astronomy and geography. Everything in the tour were just fine. We had all things we needed. I loved the parka very much. Without the parka and the gloves, I would be freezed at the height of 4000m. When I saw the milky way in the sky, I was very very touched. It's incredible!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable Adventure

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2016/08/06

Gordon, our Driver / Guide was very knowledgable of the Island and was a great guide of the cosmos. I will definitely be returning and have already shared some of the pictures i took, and people still dont believe how great the stars you can see with the naked eye. I couldn't believe how great it looked almost fake it was that Great of an experience. Thanks for the Dinner and Hot Drink selection at the end of our star gazing tour.

#Returning2017

Andrew.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: ris, 2016/06/02

Its a must go, when visiting Big Island. Sunset view is breathtaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: Peter Long, 2016/04/20

We went to the top, little lightheaded but no big deal. The stop at the lower altitude helps. Dinner was fun, just like going out camping, no frills, you get your portion and you eat it. Lasagna was actually very tasty, not overcooked, then back into the van( very comfortable), and up we go.

The summit was surreal, enveloped in the mist and clouds with large telescopes all around. We did not see the sunset because of the clouds. But it was still a great experience. We also had bad luck with star watching despite our driver's best efforts. At the end we were told that we will get a full refund minus our food ( $19). That was what convince me that the company stood behind its word. I plan to take the same trip as soon as I get back, and I will. I believe that given all the variables every trip is unique and worth taking. It was a great experience, we felt well taken care of and completely safe. Good job Veltra and our guide and driver Greg. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific evening on Mauna Kea

Reviewed by: Richard, 2016/04/13

My wife and I took this tour on April 7. The day was fairly cloudy with some showers so we were concerned we wouldn't enjoy the full experience. We were wrong.
Our guide Jim was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
The tour itself was great, from the information delivered during the ride there, the amazing sunset at almost 14,000 feet and some terrific stargazing through their own telescope with excellent info to help you understand what you were looking at.
The food was ok, brownie excellent.
Overall we would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Lea summit tour

Reviewed by: Albertszeto , 2016/01/28

An extremely informative tour, friendly and knowledgeable tour guide. The tour bus is slightly crammed. A lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome and informative

Reviewed by: Lisette, 2016/01/25

Visiting Mauna Kea was the main reason for my trip to Hawai'i and it was worth it! Our guide was informative (I wish I could of recorded everything he said) and I learnt alot, not just about the mountain and the island but about astronomy and rock formations etc.
A long day but worth having a tour as it takes the stress out of driving at high-altitude and you learn more by having a guide who visits the area daily.



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea and stargazing adventure

Reviewed by: Holly B., 2016/01/05

This was a fabulous excursion! Definitely a bucket-list must! Chris was so knowledgable and a wonderful guide. The entire experience was incredible. I was traveling solo and felt completely included the entire time. I recommend this excursion above all others. At the end we had our own private astronomy lesson and were able to use the tour's private telescopes. It just could not have been better!





Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI