Mauna Kea Summit Sunset & Stargazing Tour

Experience of a Lifetime!

Reviewed by: Beachin' Besties, 2017/08/16

If you have to choose one paid activity/tour to do on the Big Island, my friends and I definitely recommend the Mauna Kea Summit and Stargazing tour! It was an experience of a lifetime! From the AMAZING views from sunset to stargazing to the amazing, informative and friendly staff, I would definitely do this tour again, if only for the views!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2017/07/26

We learned so much about the island volcanos on this tour. The views are amazing and star gazing is outstanding. Believe the advice to be prepared for the cold. It was 37 at the top (in July)! We were fortunate to see the glow of the lava from the volcano. Apparently an unusual occurance.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tiur to Mauna Kea was a highlight of my vacation

Reviewed by: Alex K., 2017/06/25

I had a star gazing tour to Mauna Kea and have to admit this was a real STAR of my 2-week travel across Big Island. Our tour guide Maka had deep extensive knowledge in geology, volcanology, astronomy, ethnography, history of Hawaii and was just a very nice guy and interesting interlocutor. Maka was so kind to call me about my precious photo filters I left behind in the tour bus ad help me get them back. Thank you, Maka!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Minnesota2017, 2017/02/18

I had a great time, over the clouds and under the stars. This is a must see in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing views and breathtaking!

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2017/02/05

From the top of Mauna Kea you truly see forever. However, be prepared! At these heights it is also breath taking... that is, there is less air up there!! The guides were great and prepared you for the trip in every way. The dinner was good and the star gazing after coming half way back down was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I finally see the milky way!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Trina Sung, 2016/08/13

Our guide is David and he was very kind and informative. He provided a lot of island guide and knowledge of astronomy and geography. Everything in the tour were just fine. We had all things we needed. I loved the parka very much. Without the parka and the gloves, I would be freezed at the height of 4000m. When I saw the milky way in the sky, I was very very touched. It's incredible!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable Adventure

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2016/08/06

Gordon, our Driver / Guide was very knowledgable of the Island and was a great guide of the cosmos. I will definitely be returning and have already shared some of the pictures i took, and people still dont believe how great the stars you can see with the naked eye. I couldn't believe how great it looked almost fake it was that Great of an experience. Thanks for the Dinner and Hot Drink selection at the end of our star gazing tour.

#Returning2017

Andrew.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: ris, 2016/06/02

Its a must go, when visiting Big Island. Sunset view is breathtaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: Peter Long, 2016/04/20

We went to the top, little lightheaded but no big deal. The stop at the lower altitude helps. Dinner was fun, just like going out camping, no frills, you get your portion and you eat it. Lasagna was actually very tasty, not overcooked, then back into the van( very comfortable), and up we go.

The summit was surreal, enveloped in the mist and clouds with large telescopes all around. We did not see the sunset because of the clouds. But it was still a great experience. We also had bad luck with star watching despite our driver's best efforts. At the end we were told that we will get a full refund minus our food ( $19). That was what convince me that the company stood behind its word. I plan to take the same trip as soon as I get back, and I will. I believe that given all the variables every trip is unique and worth taking. It was a great experience, we felt well taken care of and completely safe. Good job Veltra and our guide and driver Greg. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific evening on Mauna Kea

Reviewed by: Richard, 2016/04/13

My wife and I took this tour on April 7. The day was fairly cloudy with some showers so we were concerned we wouldn't enjoy the full experience. We were wrong.
Our guide Jim was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
The tour itself was great, from the information delivered during the ride there, the amazing sunset at almost 14,000 feet and some terrific stargazing through their own telescope with excellent info to help you understand what you were looking at.
The food was ok, brownie excellent.
Overall we would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Lea summit tour

Reviewed by: Albertszeto , 2016/01/28

An extremely informative tour, friendly and knowledgeable tour guide. The tour bus is slightly crammed. A lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome and informative

Reviewed by: Lisette, 2016/01/25

Visiting Mauna Kea was the main reason for my trip to Hawai'i and it was worth it! Our guide was informative (I wish I could of recorded everything he said) and I learnt alot, not just about the mountain and the island but about astronomy and rock formations etc.
A long day but worth having a tour as it takes the stress out of driving at high-altitude and you learn more by having a guide who visits the area daily.



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea and stargazing adventure

Reviewed by: Holly B., 2016/01/05

This was a fabulous excursion! Definitely a bucket-list must! Chris was so knowledgable and a wonderful guide. The entire experience was incredible. I was traveling solo and felt completely included the entire time. I recommend this excursion above all others. At the end we had our own private astronomy lesson and were able to use the tour's private telescopes. It just could not have been better!





Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding and Educational Tour

Reviewed by: Blake Bastedo, 2015/12/14

I must state that the tour we booked to visit Mauna Kea was the highlight of all our activities on the Big Island. Greg was outstanding in his knowledge of the area and the solar system. My wife and I learned many new things when it came to star systems and planets. Viewing the International Space Station when it came by was unbelievable. The evening was moon free and perfectly clear. The Sunset at the Summit was breathtaking and the effects of 40% less oxygen was quite noticeable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting or planning to visit Hawaii. Keep up the great work and a big Aloha to Greg and Blake!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Omg one of the highlights of my life!

Reviewed by: Kristyn Taylor , 2015/12/11

What a fabulous tour led by Greg. Full credit to Greg, who was so engaging and informative, he really enriched the experience.
The tour was out of this world literally. The telescopes, scenery, sunset!! I loved that we didn't race off , after the sunset, but stayed as the colours deepened. We were the last tour to leave the sunset location.
The food was good! Lasagne and a very yummy brownie and later hot chocolate and biscotti whilst we star gazed through massive telescopes.
I was totally impressed with this tour. In fact raved about it so much when I got back to the hotel that my friend went the next day and also loved it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Keith, 2015/10/17

Enjoyable tour hosted by knowledgable guides. Great chance to see above the clouds and beyond. Only downside was the meal -a vegetable lasagne with a dried out top from being heated to long.


  • Spectacular Sunset


  • Other Uses for the Summit

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stellar Adventure

Reviewed by: Andy, 2015/09/10

This was truly one of the more amazing ventures we have done. The guides were knowledgeable and professional. We learned about the various international observatories, saw a phenomenal sunset above the clouds at nearly 14,000 feet and then were treated to astrological viewing that was incredible. Just a spectacular evening.

The only negative comment I have is the seating in the vans, particular if you are 6' or taller is very tight. That said, it is still a very worthwhile adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best. Stargazing. Ever.

Reviewed by: Tomáš Vachuda, 2015/08/15

Both me and my friend are big fans of stargazing. Being from Europe, we're used to completely different night sky and it war really refreshing to see the other-side-of-the-world's sky as well. Also, because Mauna Kea Summit has one of the clearest sky in the world, it took the stargazing to whole another level. It was really amazing experience and worth every penny. Also the guides knew like.. everything about the stars, so it was pretty educational too. Oh and by the way - the sunset seen from above the clouds at the summit? Magnificent!






Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

just book it!

Reviewed by: patrick, 2015/05/08

As a solo traveller from the UK it was a bit of a lucky dip as there are other providers of similar tours to this one.....worth every penny!our tour guide was Blake,he was very knowledgeable and friendly the sunset was truly amazing and the star gazing was fun and I learned alot about some of the stars..the telescopes was very good pieces of kit and we even saw the moon rising from the cloud horizon which was amazing too....we were very lucky with the weather conditions it wasn't windy at all,still a bit chilly on the summit tho..the parka jackets were good quality and clean....I could carry on,but gonna leave it here as amazing well worth it....one small note,the gloves supplied keep your hands warm but don't make it easy to take pictures on small cameras and mobile phones.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stunning scenery, don't miss this

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

Definitely do this during your holiday! The sunset and scenery at Mauna Kea is out-of-this-world and impressive. The stargazing afterwards is fun, as well as amazing to see so many stars so brightly.
The tour was excellent too, with well-informed guides and an un-rushed feel. Dinner was decent too.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A lifetime Experience!

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2014/12/07

Whilst reading this activity when planning my vacation to Hawaii I knew that going to the summit and doing some stargazing would be something not to be missed. I'm glad it did not disappoint! The sunset atop Mauna Kea is amazing with only clouds below us, and we were able to view a great deal of objects in the night sky. It does definitely get chilly up there, and even though they supply Parkas and gloves be sure to wear some heavy pants and thick covered in shoes (lest your toes succumb to frostbite!) I have recommended this tour to friends whom I know will be going to Hawaii in the next few years.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a good time

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2014/11/15

Seeing the sun set at the top of mauna kea was a once in a lifetime adventure. However dInner wasn't that great - was handed the food to eat at the visitor center -no where to sit and eat and had to balance dinner plate on my lap. This was not what I expected. As well, food was not very good. No drink included. Astronomy lesson after sunset was interesting. Although overall the trip was ok I did not think it was worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea summit tour

Reviewed by: Phoenix family, 2014/11/09

Excellent tour. We'll worth the money. More educational than expected. We would have liked to have more time to ask questions but the two guides did a fantastic job trying to see everyone was comfortable and amazed. We would book it again just because it was one of the highlights of our vacation. A job well done.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Chris, 2014/10/25

Great tour guide amazing experience the best view on earth

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

LETS DO IT AGIAN

Reviewed by: Ara kahramanian, 2014/07/19

The tour guides were ver knoweldgable, especaiily Chris. It was my childhood dream to see the Keck telescopes and it became a reality, The sunset view was amazing and the diamonds in the sky, aka the starts were even better. I saw satellites and shooting stars and the milkyway galaxy.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stellar!

Reviewed by: Ultrasonics21, 2014/04/21

It was a very educational tour with a breathtaking view. I just expected astronomy but the tour guide knew a great deal about volcanos, geology and island plant and animal life as well. The guide was awesome and I love taking tours with someone as trained and passionate about his work as this guy was. The food was so-so but it was hot and ready. The bus was cramped but it got us there and had big windows for great viewing. Once at the top, the observatories were incredible to look at as they opened up for evening viewing. The view of the sunset was also breathtaking, and not just from the lack of oxygen on top of the mountain. Once we headed back down for stargazing, our guides did a great job of pointing out astronomy as we used there 11 inch telescopes. Very great tour and highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manua Kea Summit and Stargazing

Reviewed by: Neil Wright, 2014/04/16

As a family with teenagers this trip catered to our needs. Our trip up the mountain was very good and our stop at the visitors centre for our meal gave us a chance to acclimatize before moving onto the summit. We made it to the summit and saw a wonderful sunset before moving onto some stargazing. Our artic jackets were more than handy and we arrived back in Kona by 11pm.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular viewing!!

Reviewed by: George and Barbara, 2014/01/23

We had a great guide Jim. His knowledge of Hawaiian history, plants and wildlife was great. When we were at the Summit with the large world telescope buildings and when we did the viewing of the stars he was excellent there as well.

Highly Recommend this tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: William C, 2013/12/11

The temperature was colder than I expected but the viewing was spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2013/07/01

It was a once in a lifetime experience. It's very cold up at the summit, but the sunset and stargazing were worth it. The only complaint I had was that the dinner (vegetable lasagna) was terrible.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI