Luxury Volcano Circle of Fire & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour (from Hilo)

Had a fantastic time!

Reviewed by: D&H, 2017/09/11

The trip was initially cancelled due to poor weather, but the Blue Hawaiian staff were all extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and rebooked us for later that day. The flight was gorgeous, and the pilot (Patrick) was both professional and very entertaining. I'd happily recommend it to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride

Reviewed by: Maggie, 2017/09/02

Really great ride. Beautiful scenery. Saw some lava and waterfalls but we were not very close to either. Worth the trip but don't expect to get close

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Redmond, 2017/08/30

Saw volcano with bubbling lava and lava glowing into the sea. Friendly and informative pilot. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: Simone, 2017/08/12

Would use Blue Hawaiian if visiting again on another island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

High up

Reviewed by: Daryl Mitchell , 2017/08/05

Great ride in all aspects! Weather was excellent for viewing, even up at the crater.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: part, 2017/07/27

The pilot was very friendly, attentive and made sure we could get the best out of our tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Sakhom, 2017/07/25

It was a great experience with full explanation from the pilots along the way. We all did enjoy it. The only flip side was the video record from our helicopter which turned to be the old system on the disc and the quality was pretty bad, considering buying the better quality for the customers to buy later on. Not all of them have a good video camera.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Diane, 2017/07/25

Excellent views of volcanoe, & informativepot Scott.
No other way to get that perspective.
Kids loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano and waterfall trip from Hilo

Reviewed by: Jim...aka Dad, 2017/07/17

Be ready for good music, family fun and good jokes...leave the Dad jokes back home!


  • Aloha...Holden's

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Started out rough, but was a fun time

Reviewed by: Dotman, 2017/07/17

We arrived at the appointed time for check in after making the 2 hour drive from the opposite side of the island. We were greeted nicely, had a short conversation, then found out the booking agent sent the email with the requested date/time, but the booking agent actually booked us for the following day.

After a few minutes, the tour company resolved the oversight by calling in the standby pilot, upgraded us to the bigger helicopter (to fly with only us), and would provide us with a free copy of the flight video. The only issue was it would be an hour later than our scheduled time. This gave us time to eat lunch at the airport before our new check in time, so no worries.

The flight was fun, great photo opportunities of the volcano areas/lava tubes, and very interesting facts from the seasoned pilot. I would use this company again despite the scheduling error.


  • In flight


  • At the check in desk

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Deana, 2017/07/16

I was scared for my life, but it was amazing!!! Our pilot Eli was awesome!!! Highly recommend it!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Volcano shots

Reviewed by: Michele, 2017/07/10

The views of the volcanoes were amazing! I was a bit disappointed in the waterfalls though. We didn't get as close as it appears in the pictures!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: David, 2017/07/04

Seeing the lava in the cauldron coupled with the lava flow hitting the water and the massive lava fields was amazing. Throw in the waterfalls and it was an unforgettable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and educational

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2017/06/08

I brought my daughter and granddaughter to visit my parents who live in Hawaii. My parents had never done the helicopter tour and it exceeded our expectations. Our pilot was also a biologist and gave us lots of information about the island. The kids (teenagers) couldn't stop smiling. We had four generations in that helicopter and all of us loved the experience. Highly recommended.


  • Just landed and can't stop smiling!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lisa, the Circle of Fire is one of the "hottest" tours we have right now! Great to hear that your family was able to experience it and to see what formed the archipelago of the Hawaiian Islands. Hawaii Island is the youngest of all the major islands; we hope you have a chance to visit her older siblings and see what they have to offer from the sky!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous helicopter ride

Reviewed by: Marg from Australia , 2017/05/22

We travelled from Australia with our friends and took a helicopter tour of the volcano. The trip was amazing !! The pilot was informative and very knowledgeable. He had some great jokes and made us feel very safe. I would really recommend this trip to anyone.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Marg, Thank you for making the long trip out to visit Hawaii! So great to hear that you had such a memorable experience. Great selfie by the way!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Karl Bement, 2017/05/21

Low clouds, poor visability, the tours we have taken in Maui and Honolulu were much better there se szw more waterfalls and coast line

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!!!

Reviewed by: Curtis & Laura, 2017/04/13

Pilot was an excellent "stick" and well informed. Catered to our ooohh and ahhhhs. One of best experiences ever.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved our flight with Coleen

Reviewed by: Lori, 2017/04/09

Really great flight with amazing views of the volcano. Coleen was a superb pilot and great guide. We got some terrific views of the caldera and where the flow meets the sea. Well worth the money- a once in a lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava flow

Reviewed by: Duane, 2017/02/19

Hard to beat the pictures you can get from the air on this trip.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Views!!!

Reviewed by: Jamie, 2017/01/26

We are so happy we chose this helicopter tour. We got close for pictures and selfies and our pilot was entertaining!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano only

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/12/24

We thought this would be a island tour. Yes we wanted to see the volcano that we wanted to see more too. We saw very little other than the volcano.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Veiwing

Reviewed by: Patrice, 2016/12/01

Hi - Had an informative pilot who took us over the craters - and were able to see the lava entering the sea - best way to see it! I've been told on the walk in you are not able to the lava very well and are not able to get close. An exciting thing to do for your holiday and great viewing to see it all from the air! Glad we did!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome View

Reviewed by: RJAK, 2016/06/07

It was a great day to go on the Helicopter, pilot was very knowledgeable. I would go again, you got great views of the lava flows.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amaizing

Reviewed by: Maruxa, 2016/01/16

The experience was really great!
The views were amaizing!
I recomend this experience!




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter Ride

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2016/01/02

Very professional staff and felt very safe. I would just say that this experience had a lot for me to compare to for me and my daughter on this trip to Hawaii. We did ziplining, Parasailing, horse back riding and went from high-octane outdoor activities to passenger sightseeing. However, if I were to rank this tour as a stand-alone activity I would give it very high marks. To see the volcanic areas from the air is really interesting since you are seeing a "live" mass in motion (can't see it move but it is moving). Trees are burning from the lava, smoke and craters really lets you know who is in charge, nature.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Teresa, 2015/12/01

Riding in a helicopter and seeing a live volcano checked off two of the entries on my life list. Scott, our pilot, was as excited as we were to see the molten lava gushing out in neon orange waves. It was definitely one of those,"Oh wow!" moments.

None of the retired ladies in our group had ever ridden in a helicopter before, and Scott had just the right combination of confidence and professionalism that reassured everyone. I would definitely fly with him again!

This tour was the highlight of our trip, and I would recommend it to everyone. It was worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

looking for lava

Reviewed by: toni turnham, 2015/09/28

A enjoyable flight, if they can they take you up to the vent, to try and see lava, which may not always be flowing, the staff are very friendly, organised.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting and majestic way to see the Big Island from above

Reviewed by: KJGS, 2015/09/23

Go for the Eco star! The viewing windows and space provide an excellent ride. Brandt was a great pilot who gave us an informative tour with funny antidotes. It's the closest feeling you can get to literally flying since it such a smooth ride, felt like we floated over billowing volcanoes and gushing waterfalls. Footage from video at the end had great clips inside and outside the helicopter but was too pixeled and fuzzy to want to purchase, hopefully as technology improves so will DVD. Pics and videos we took ourselves turned out good, even with an IPhone 6 and point and low end point and shoot camera. Take the ride, it's worth it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and informative flight

Reviewed by: J. Ford, 2015/06/02

It was worth every penny to get to fly over the lava fields. Grant, our pilot, has over 30 years experience piloting. He knows the area well. "Luxury" flight only allowed for 4 passengers so there was plenty of room and we all had a great view. We were also given the opportunity to ask the pilot all kinds of questions regarding the lava fields and surrounding area. I highly recommend this activity. Very much a highlight of our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour

Reviewed by: Marsha, 2015/05/01

We had a great time flying over the volcano and seeing how lava makes an island. A very good way to see the vast flows. As on Kauai, the staff at Blue Hawaiian was great. They know their island and their love of it shows.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI