Twilight Adventure: Volcano National Park Hike & Night Lava Viewing (from Kona)

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Jacqueline Perez, 2017/07/17

We had a wonderful time!! Kim was so informative and knowledgeable! The Hawaii National Park was amazing & beautiful and everything was provided for us and comfortable! I would highly recommend this experience to anyone.


  • With hot smoldering lava behind me!! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day

Reviewed by: Big Rob, 2017/07/13

Thanks to Steve for a wonderful day,
A fountain of knowledge , we all learnt so much about beautiful Hawaii and its history.
Great food, views and volcanoes were awesome


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING TOUR!!!

Reviewed by: OutdoorTravelerMN511, 2017/05/02

This was a fantastic tour!!! I wasn't sure quite what to expect but I am so glad I choose to book with them. The tour guide was great, very personable, funny, and very knowledgeable about the Island of Hawaii and volcanoes. The guide will give you a Hawaiian version and a scientific version of how the Hawaii Islands were created. The Hawaiian version is the more interesting version for sure! You get picked up from various hotels around the Island and during the ride the guide shares numerous stories etc. This trip consisted of seeing Volcano National Park during the day and at night, walking through numerous rain forests and seeing a waterfall. I can't emphasize enough how great this experience was, I have recommended all my friends and family to use this company on any tours they use for Hawaii. They do serve lunch and dinner and have numerous beverages such as water and pop for you to have throughout the day. They also provide rain jackets if necessary. The van was relatively large and had plenty of room for everyone. I will definitely use them again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the Volcano adventure

Reviewed by: Brent and Angie, 2017/03/26

This was our first trip to the Big Island. My family (including kids - 8 and 11) went on this adventure to learn about volcanoes and the Island. This trip delivered! Our tour guide, Steve, did a wonderful job of blending science, history, and culture as we drove around the Island and through Volcanoes National Park. Steve tailored the trip to suit the interests of the group (which we had fun getting to know along the way) and the most interesting events occurring on that day.

We saw the Thurston Lava Tube, steam vents, lava bubbling out of the caldera, steam from the lava entering the ocean and different types of lava flows. We learned about the flora and fauna native to the area, as well as plants and animals brought to the island.

This was a long day, and I was worried that my youngest might get cranky as it got late. He didn't. The van was comfortable. The walks to see the sights were appropriate for most abilities. The food served was tasty and filling (the vegetarian option was excellent).

We would highly recommend this trip to everyone. In fact, when we return to The Big Island, we will use this company again for another tour. Be sure to bring a jacket, good walking shoes, and a camera.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable but not for those looking for Active

Reviewed by: Dominique -Australia, 2017/03/13

This was a great tour, the guide was knowledgeable and helpful and the service of collect and drop off at your hotel is great. My husband and I do like to be a bit more active so there was probably a bit too much sitting in the bus and it was quite a long day. However the tour was tailored in the moment in that as passengers we were able to suggest what we wanted to see. The night lava show was good the meal was not what we expected ... we thought we would be at a restaurant but it was like another picnic the same as lunch. I would recommend this tour for those who don't mind a little more sedate excursion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour but not for young couples

Reviewed by: Olaia (Spain), 2016/07/28

We were looking for some hiking to the volcanoes or lava viewing and this tour didn't do that. There were too many hours in the bus with very few action. Although this tour was very good organised and our gude Steve was the best! It was a pleasure to meet you Steve!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for joining us while visiting the Big Island. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry our Twilight Volcano Adventure did not meet your expectations. While we do try to ensure guests experience an in-depth exploration the Park we cannot always guarantee lava viewing as it is unpredictable and many times in difficult to reach locations. We recently developed a new Volcano hiking tour with the current lava flow into the ocean that would probably meet your needs called the Kilauea Lava Hike. We hope you will join us again on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awe Inspiring

Reviewed by: TRexy, 2016/06/25

The ability to stand at the edge of what created these islands is breathtaking. In addition to the lava pool, glow and crater, we hiked along the sulfur and steam vents and threw a lava tube. Our guide Mark was great and you could really feel his passion about the big island and its formative past.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Month long trip Highlight

Reviewed by: Arcglasgow, 2015/11/02

This was an amazing day out. Hawaii Forest and Trail provide a very high quality service, phoning you the day before to confirm, plenty of drinking water, and good quality vehicles and meals. The guide Taj was probably the best I have ever had. He had such a broad range of knowledge: Geology, specifically volcanoes, Hawaiian culture, plants, birds and he was a really pleasant guy to be with. The trip itself really deserves the word awesome. You see the crater in daylight pretty special even though at present it just looks like steam coming out, hike on the lava with great description of the flows and the repopulation by nature. Down to the coast to see lava flows which have gone into the sea, none currently., dinner and sunset at the coast , a walk through a lava tubeand then the climax: going back to the Jagger Museum to see the outpouring in the dark. I can't describe it, you have to see it. One word of warning. Take note of the warnings about your lungs as the Vog is ever present and not really noticeable but I don't have any particular problems and felt like I had a cold for the next couple of days.


  • The crater


  • On the lava field


  • The crater at night

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

volacano tour

Reviewed by: Gary, 2015/09/07

Overall the tour was good, the guide was very knowledgeable(Steve Leto), the food options were great, the only negative thing about 'the tour states there was hiking' but there was no hiking, but there was none just walking so it was a bit disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Words can only try to describe...

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

...but you have to go there to understand! It was a priviledge to reach the caldara, to walk through the National Park, to hear the voice of the earth.
The guide was educational, and passionate about the Island and the volcanos. He was really very informative and his knowledge made the difference. The lunch was very satisfying, and The Hawaii Forest & Trail really think and manage everything with great professionality. Not much lava that night, but it's nature's will. Anyway i'll never forget the voice of the earth.







Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI