Circle Island & Volcanoes National Park Sightseeing on Motorcoach (from Kona)

Circle Island & Volcanoes National Park Sightseeing Tour

Reviewed by: Carol, 2017/07/24

The trip picked us up right at the hotel. That was very convenient. We had lunch at Volcanoes National Park overlooking the volcano. We had a great time. Our tour guide had lots of information to share with us.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island tour

Reviewed by: Dan Schiller, 2017/06/16

Fantastic trip.... Driver was Greg. Yery informative and had a great since of humor....

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Journey to Pelehonuamea’s abode

Reviewed by: Sushmita, 2017/04/17

The journey to the Volcanoes National Park was truly amazing. Our driver, Jeffery was full of snippets of information, folklore and modern stories about Hawaii and kept us entertained and engaged all through the day. The tour was a snapshot of the island from the black sand beaches, foggy hills, rainforest like areas to grasslands and rolling hills. However, the highlight was the abode of the volcano goddess, Pele. We were lucky enough to see some lava fountains on the edge of the Kilauea caldera. The trip was planned well so that we had enough time to enjoy the majesty of the volcano, the atmosphere of the Rainbow waterfall and of course the coffee, shortbread cookies, macadamia nut candies and the various flavours of macademia nuts at different store stops along the way! This trip was one of the most memorable highlights of our trip to Hawaii.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

trip

Reviewed by: fiona, 2017/03/28

Wonderful trip
The driver know many things and tell a lot
If he can get off the bus and go with us , it would be good.
Lucky, the weather is nice and i can see the turtles



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good to learn outline of the big island

Reviewed by: Chiyo, 2016/12/17

It was good to visit several places in a day, to feel the big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: CGTUR, 2016/06/21

Long trip but with many interesting stops enroute. The driver / guide was very informative especialy on the local folklore


  • Kilaweo bubbling!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Day!

Reviewed by: Matt., 2016/06/04

A great way to get a snapshot of the whole island. It would have been great to see the bay where Captain Cook landed but that was the only main thing we missed. We travelled with two little boy (6 and 8) and it was a massive day for them but overall great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time circling the island

Reviewed by: Vera and Jack Glass, 2016/05/25

We met Cuzn Greg at in Kona and boarded the bus for our tour. The tour started off relaxed instead of hurried. Greg gave our tour a lot of history and humor. The tour was a great way to begin our stay on Hawaii. We were able to see sights and decide whether or not we wanted to go check it out again. The local knowledge given to our group by Cuzn Greg was insightful and left me wanting to learn a little more. All the stops were long enough to take in whatever sight you were at but not long enough to get boring. We plan on coming again and will do more tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not that interesting ....

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2016/04/30

You can tell they get paid by the retail places they stop at. We weren't allowed much time at scenic places we stopped at but when we stopped at a chocolate factory or the coffee shop or the macadamia nut factory we had plenty of time to "shop". We didn't take this tour to shop. We took this tour to see the island, all the places were interesting but when you have 30 minutes at the candy store and only 15 minutes at Rainbow Falls (and we were told to use the restrooms at the falls cuz their won't be bathrooms for awhile) that's obvious they are getting a kick back from the candy store. Also our bus has a bathroom but he said we weren't allowed to use it because it hasn't been cleaned from the event from the prior weekend. I think someone's being lazy and not doing their job by cleaning the restrooms. It's ashame, they messed up overall in my opinion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island and Volcanoes National Park tour

Reviewed by: Jen, 2016/04/25

My family and I enjoyed this tour a lot. Although it was a very long day around 12 hours from time of pick up to returning to the hotel, our drivers made the ride enjoyable and the day go by fast. Our shuttle driver Billy picked us up from the hotel and brought us to the motor coach where Kala took over for our journey around the Big Island. Both drivers were very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour was very informative with many interesting topics ranging from history of the land, communities, cultures, folklore, and meaning of the many Hawaiian names. Kala was wonderful and shared many stories as an insider who grew up and lives in Hawaii. We were able to visit many locales including a coffee farm, black sand beach, lava tube, candy store, volcanoes national park, Hilo, Kona, rainbow waterfall, and macadamia nut store. We would have liked to have more time per stop and for lunch but understand this would have either cut back on the number of sites to see or stretch the tour beyond 12 hours. Food at the volcanoes restaurant was good and can be preordered but the wait was still long for the food to come out. Overall, it was a great tour that gave us a glimpse of Big Island's many attractions.


  • Lava fields

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holiday

Reviewed by: Jo Wong, 2016/03/12

our driver was lovely and did some detours to show us more due to the small size of our group.
was already at the pick up point at the hotel in the morning - we were 10 mins early ourselves ~!
was a very pleasure day tour :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing driver-guide

Reviewed by: Louise & Frank, 2016/02/28

Kemo is a living computer! This guy knows everything about the Big Island. We enjoyed his colourful narration as we navigated the roads around the island.
We enjoyed being part of a tour and learning about the history of the island of Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect way to see the big island

Reviewed by: Mike , 2016/02/06

Our girls loved the tour. They got to see the best of the big island in one day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The had enough time at each stop to look around. The bus picked them up right by where they were staying.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good way to start a visit

Reviewed by: ScottJ, 2016/01/23

This tour s a great way to get an overview of the big island. The content is good, maybe a few too many 'souvenir' stops, but overall a very good tour. Our guide was very personable, and very knowledgable. He gave a constant commentary of the history of the island, geology, and flora. The stop at Volcanoes National Park was a highlight, would have enjoyed more time there. One suggestion, bottled water on the bus would be nice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good way to know Big Island

Reviewed by: First time visitor, 2016/01/09

The tour guide was knowledgable. He knew about the developing history of Big Island and the current housing/ land pricing as well. This tour is a great way to go on main attraction on Big Island.


  • Black sand beach

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time

Reviewed by: Eunice, 2015/12/26

Excellent tour!!! Tour guide very knowledgeable about the island. We travelled with my elderly father with wheel chair (9 total). Tour guide very helpful and easy going. I think his name is Bob. The whole family was very impressed with everything. We had the tour with lunch. The food was delish!!! I would definitely recommend this tour 100% and will next time book here again if we ever go back to the big island. This tour really made our trip worth it!!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island & Vocanoes National Park Sightseeing on Motorcoach

Reviewed by: Parmel & Angelique, 2015/12/13

My daughter and I did this tour in Nov and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was quite surprised that we we picked up in a beautiful Motor Coach which was so comfortable. Tour itself was absolutely fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and guided us throughout the tour. Highly recommended.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour ! Highly Recommend

Reviewed by: Hiren Tilala, 2015/11/19

I along with my wife took this tour on 12th November 2015. Initially I was little bit hesitant for booking this tour, but I am glad I did it. Volcano National Park visit and Lava tube are the best experience of my life. We had a lot of fun at Kona coffee visitor center shop. This tour covers lot of places to take pics like Orchid garden, Waterfall, etc . Our Guide stopped bus at Candy factory and macadamia nuts factory (crazy nuts with lot of flavor) which was fun. Overall, this tour definitely exceeds my expectation and I recommend everyone to take this tour if you want to cover important attractions of Big Island in one day. Most Importantly, All credit goes to guide who is very friendly and informative ( He even lend me his umbrella at volcano national park).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mexico visiting Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jaqui, 2015/11/12

Hi I'm Mexican and travel with my niece, Hawaii, take the Circle Island tour & Volcanoes National Park Sightseeing on Motorcoach and our guide was very friendly and was Greg.Greg though not perfectly master the language, we did spend a day execelente . We visited the national park and was exciting to see so much natural beauty, also the view of the waterfall was hermosisima, but the most fun was shopping visit the ranch sweet coffee shop and macadamia rich aromas and flavors. Thanks for the orgabizacion of these trips.
Mexican recommend this trip enjoy it, do not miss it.you do not always have the opportunity to discover both in one trip besides the excellent company



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful landscape

Reviewed by: victor, 2015/11/12

the tour of the National Park on the Big Island and the surrounding area was fun, instructive and impressive. Our guide Greg was simpatico, courteous and very considerate, and stranger still that we support our needs. Thanks to this excellent tourpudimos We spend a pleasant day with my granddaughters and daughters and my wife liked the landscapes that despite not master the language seemed beautiful landscapes I see in this trip.We never imagined such beauty and exotic landscape and excellent coffee. We recommend this tour to be a beautiful memory of Hawaii.Besides seeing the strange black sand beaches and pleasant climate for walking
Thanks Greg for your excellent company and frenship



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

HAPPY TRYP IN HAWAII

Reviewed by: mabe, 2015/11/12

An excellent choice to know the natural hawaiian wonders, it was a tour with emotion and expectations of how dangerous nature can be. The guide was friendly, with experience and patience even with foreign tourist like us. As a mexican tourists visiting for first time, we always remember this beautiful island we highly recommended this tour, Do not lose this tour, that can be a great mistake you can lost a great adventure that few sides of the word can offer. So thank HAWAIIAN ACTIVITIES for this option. And like we say MEXICO "ESTUVO PADRISMO" it means: was great, fun, awesome and amazing.

I recommend this excellent trip



  • EXCELLENT

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time! Highly recommended!

Reviewed by: Diana C., 2015/11/07

I am currently on vacation with my mom and this was our second time to the Big Island and the first time we took a tour. It was a last minute decision and we were able to find to find a great discount through hawaiiactivities.com. Normally, we do not do tours, but we felt unsure about driving and wanted to relax instead of drive to places. The island tour exceeded our expectations and we learned a lot of stuff that we eagerly shared with other tourists when we went to our luau last night. There were plenty of stops to get out for pictures, buying souvenirs and restroom breaks. The lunch was exceptional and I think it was worth the gold upgrade. I also enjoyed the free samples of Kona coffee, Hawaiian chocolate, and flavored macadamia nuts, etc. My mom loved the Lava Tube (cave) and seeing the volcano crater.

All-in-all, it was very relaxing and enjoyable. We had a lot of fun.

Also, for those with disabilities, I have a problem walking long distances and on uneven paths, so I did not do the short hike to the Lava Tube (cave). But, that's OK, as people are free to sit out from activities that they cannot do and I found the tour to be disability-friendly. They even have a special bus if advance notice is given for those in wheelchairs. The activity provider is Polynesian Adventure Tours Hawaii and they have a good reputation on the island according to the resort we are staying at.

Have fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Fabalous

Reviewed by: Jason, 2015/11/03

We had done some reviews on the site and picked this after positive feedback and glowing reviews.PLEASE add this as a recommendation... Greg was an awesome tour guide he knew all the back stories to everything on the island. He was knowledgeable and funny. The tour took us all around the island in a nice and easy pace.

Highlight was going to the national park for the volcanic activity and also the amazing waterfall. My girlfriend and I recommend that you should do it on the first day as it will make the island exploring easier. Unfortunately we did it on our 2nd last day..

We didn't have a big group as it was Halloween but it made the tour more nimble and Greg was able to do some more random stop offs to make the day more memorable.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Way to Go

Reviewed by: stsoming, 2015/10/26

Our all-day Circle Island tour of the Big Island is the most efficient and smartest way to go for a first time visitor. The Big Island is vast; you can see up the coastline from the shore, but that distant point can be 75+ miles away. Generally speaking, I am not a fan of big bus tours. However, sitting high in the Polynesian Adventure Tour bus gave us a comfortable and panoramic view, and left the road worries and driving to our driver/tour guide, Sal. Sal is originally from the East Coast, but while he was driving, we learned about the Big Island's history, mythology, flora, fauna, language, etc. and it became obvious he took pride in his job and in his adopted home of 24 years. He joked that we would be tested, but it turned out, he was tested because before our last tour stop at the Hamakua Macadamia Nut Company, he became ill. Despite vomiting and G-I distress, he "held it together" and drove the bus safely into the parking lot before exiting quickly to the men's room. An aid car took him to the hospital and the Polynesian Adventure Tour Company sent a relief bus driver and mini-van to get us back to our respective hotels. It was an extra long day, but I learned the next day when I called Polynesian that he was at home resting and would make a full recovery. Kudos to Sal and to Polynesian Adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous tour!!

Reviewed by: Honeymooner Mrs. A, 2015/10/23

This tour was a wonderful way to see some of the big island's greatest attractions in one day, while learning much of hawaii's culture and history from a native tour guide! Jimmy, our tour guide, did a great job of providing background on all the tour stops and about the scenery along the way, while mixing in some light-hearted humor and even singing a traditional Hawaiian aloha song to end the day! The visits to the coffee plantation and macadamia nut factory were fun and provided lots of tasty samples. The black sand beach was a memorable experience, which included several sea turtle sightings. The visit to the volcano national park was incredible and so fun to eat lunch with the smoking volcano in the background! And the tunnels were amazing, walking through a beautiful rainforest setting and through the marvelous wet caverns - this was one of our favorite parts of the trip! Overall, such a great trip, so glad we booked through Polynesian. And the 11.5 hours went by quickly and comfortably in the bus. Plus, they picked us up and returned us to our hotel, which was such a great bonus, very convenient! They also provided a shuttle to pick us up at the hotel, which took us to the motorcoach, and our driver of the shuttle, Bill, was also very knowledgable of the Hawaiian culture and so friendly. He made being up at 6 am a pleasurable experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Top All-in-One tour

Reviewed by: Keith, 2015/10/17

Tiring, but a good tour to get an overview of the the Big Island's highlights for further investigation later. A knowledgable guide highlighted other places to visit if time permitted as well as giving a comprehensive commentary on visited sites.


  • Rainbow falls in Hilo


  • Lava tubes (watch your head at low spots)


  • lunch stop (great lunch-not included)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great tour!

Reviewed by: Tim Disney, 2015/10/12

The tour was great! Our guide, "Kimosabe", was extremely informative and was amazingly somehow able to fill almost the entire 12 hours with his local knowledge and humor. The Big Island Circle tour gave a great overview of the island and made it easy for us to see where we wanted to come and visit next time we come to Hawai'i. The stops were a good length: just enough time to get a feel for each of the locations, but not enough time to really explore at a leisurely pace--perfect as a way to see the Big Island that does its scope justice. Conveniently enough, the stops were approximately 45 minutes to an hour and a half away from each other so you could go on bathroom breaks and stretch your legs without feeling antsy. All in all, I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to get a bigger picture of what the Big Island of Hawai'i has to offer at a reasonable cost and with a very well-informed and talkative guide. A great value for the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice trip

Reviewed by: Stefano, 2015/10/11

This trip allows a nice general view of the Island, anyway the first half of the tour is more interesting (till volcano) than the second part. The bus driver was very nice and explained us a lot of interesting things about the Island. The two stops at Macadamia factory and chocolate factory were not interesting at our eyes. The volcanic sand beach and volcano view were really nice. Particularly the volcanic beach was really impressive with a great constrast of colours, where the black sand was overlapped by green plants. Unfortunately we could not see any turtle due to the fact that they are used to go on the beach during afternoon. In conclusion, we greatly reccomand this tour for a general and relatively quick view of Big Island especially if your don't plan to rent a car.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island tour

Reviewed by: Angela, 2015/10/10

The tour was great! It was our first time on the island and the tour gave us the opportunity to relax and enjoy the scenery.We took the tour on our first day so we marked down the places we wanted to go back and see without being on a time schedule. There was just enough time at each stop to enjoy the scenery, taste and shop. Our tour guide,Rick, was knowledgeable about the history of the island and gave us opportunities to ask questions. The lunch was great, it would have been nice to have other options besides the fish,chicken and burger. I guess based on who you booked it through determined the meal choices. Some people had a sandwich that I think I would have preferred. But the chicken I had I sure was just as good. The food was so good half of us had to sleep it off between the stops. Rick even made a couple of extra stops so we could stretch our legs and wake us up. The tour is good for families, however children may become restless because there was a couple time there was about 45 minutes between stops. But if a child can handle a flight to the island they should be okay on the tour.
The tour was great it would be nice if one was available to go to the Botanical gardens.


  • Black Sand Beach


  • Volcano

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BIG ISLAND TOUR

Reviewed by: T.J., 2015/10/10

Absolutely FABULOUS!! Sit back, relax and let someone else to the driving. Rick was fun and knew a lot about the Hawaiian history. The stops were timed perfectly so we didn’t get tired just sitting on the bus. The places we stopped at gave us samples so just as we would get a little hungry we were able to get something to hold us over until we had our Fabulous lunch. It would have been nice to sit together as a group instead of the restaurant dividing us up based on who we booked the tour through. Even though you are on bus for the whole day there are a lot of stops and sites to see that the time goes by pretty quick. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone visiting the island for the first time and especially for families with kids. If possible go on your first day that way you will have time to go back to some of the spots if you wanted to. Also I recommend bring bottle water or something to drink.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI