Explore Hamakua Coast: Waipio Valley, Tropical Farm & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

11 reviews (Post a review)

Perfect day!

Reviewed by: Ginger W, 2017/07/08

This was a wonderful tour and our first experience on the Big Island. We enjoyed the macadamia nut farm which also had other fruit trees and a great view of a waterfall. We swam in a gorgeous private waterfall, saw Rainbow Falls , and headed to the valley; which was a place unlike anywhere I had been. We had wild horses come right up to the van. Our guides were both fabulous; one even brought us pineapple to snack on from his yard. This is an experience not to be missed!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If you can afford it, you should definitely take this trip

Reviewed by: Elise Wilson, 2017/06/24

If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would.

My family and I did this our first day in Hawaii, and it served as an amazing introduction to the culture, geography, and geology of the island. The waterfalls were beautiful and the valley was unexpectedly incredible. Our guide for the majority of the tour was named Ehitu and he was extremely knowledgeable and nice - he even brought us fresh pineapple from his house, which was amazing. The private waterfall where we swam was beautiful, albeit a little chilly. Definitely bring water shoes if you want to swim and jump off the rocks! I didn't catch the name of our guide into the valley, but he came up to take us on his day off, and he knew everything and everyone down there. He had lived there in the past, so he was able to take us off road and drive down rivers and even introduce us to the wild horses, who came up to the vehicle when he called them.

Overall, this was an amazing excursion - breathtaking views and excellent guides. Do this if you have the chance.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley & Waterfall Tour

Reviewed by: Cherie & Tony Durso, 2017/04/05

What a great tour!!! I've never swam in a lake with a waterfall before - just amazing... Waipio Valley was beautiful!!! Well worth the time as it's a nice mix of driving & then stopping at a place for a bit...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Frank, 2016/12/29

Great guide, very knowledgable would recommend his tour to anyone. There was no Kayak so swim but that didn't matter we had a great day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wild horses

Reviewed by: SHARON SHAMBOURGER , 2016/11/22

Waipio Valley is one of the most beautiful places on the Big Island. As you descend into the valley our driver stopped at various points for pictures.A whole independent people live in the valley. At the top before entering thereis a wonderful shop that sells coffee, tea,and delicious sorbets,as well as quality gifts. Hike to the black sand beach for even more beautiful scenes. Do not miss this experience


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Informative and Interesting!

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2015/03/29

I would especially like to thank our tour guide (3/18/2015, can't remember his name!) for the wealth of information he provided, for the special Japanese box lunch and for just doing a wonderful job of the entire tour with us! I would highly recommend this guide. The tour itself had such beautiful scenery, along with real Hawaiian homes down rugged trails. Loved seeing the wild horses and that beautiful unspoiled beach in the valley! The waterfall was a bit of a disappointment. I was hoping to get much closer to it and get some good pictures, but it was way off in the distance. Otherwise, I would do it again! Our guide was also considerate about letting us get breakfast and use the restroom before the trip because it was such an early pick up time and a couple of us missed that.


  • Beach in Waipio Valley


  • Looking down to Waipio Valley beach


  • Crossing a creek in 4 wheel drive vehicle on rugged road to valley

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio Valley & Hamakua Waterfalls Sightseeing Adventure

Reviewed by: LeEtta East, 2015/03/27

This was a very enjoyable adventure. We did have to do a LOT of walking but survived it. Walking was NOT on level ground. At the Valley we had to dodge mud puddles. There were a lots of steps at Akaka Falls. We saw a LOT of beautiful waterfalls which was the reason we booked this tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unexpected high point of trip

Reviewed by: Marlies, 2014/12/26

I was not expecting this trip to be as great as it was. Kala our guide was extremely nice and has an unbelievable amount of knowledge. He created a fun day that included great food, new friends and new information about Hawaii that I will never forget.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressive

Reviewed by: Mamiko, 2014/11/29

I was very lucky to go there. Even raining, it is nature. No reason not to go!!
Thank you for everything.
I was a Japanese solo tourist, all staff were kind!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nature is Beautiful

Reviewed by: Aloha , 2014/10/29

This tour was great in exploring the Wapio Valley in the comfort of a 4 wheel drive van. The doors were open so I had an unobstructed view of the narrow and steep drive down the valley. The guides were very knowledgeable of the valley as they took us to Black Sand Beach, taro patches and explained the lifestyle they still live. The scenic view to the Waipio Valley and Hamakua Coast was colorful and absolutely beautiful. A delicious Japanese bento lunch was waiting for us at the Akaka Falls picnic table. Next stop was to the Hilo Farmer's Market where they had lots of fresh tropical fruits.





Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waipio valley and Hamakua

Reviewed by: Marc Van den Berge, 2014/09/12

Excellent program in Waipio Valley. Pick up 30 minutes late.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI