Island Tour: Waipio Valley, Waterfalls, Black Sand Beach & Volcano National Park

Island Tour.

Reviewed by: Maryann, 2017/01/11

We did the Circle Island Tour, small group tour which was fantastic. I cannot say enough about this tour. It was approx. 11.5 hours but the day flew by. Our driver Kevin was amazing and informed us about everything. It was a maximum 12 people which made it very enjoyable. Our lunch break we stopped at an Orchid shop and our driver had picked us up Bento Boxes, it was delicious. We saw everything from waterfalls, rain forest, black sand beach, lava tubes, lava fields, and volcanoes and so much more. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Well worth the money.
Thank you for the great tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island tour

Reviewed by: Jeanne, 2016/08/29

Guide was very informative. He talked about everything we were seeing and was easy to listen to. The only concern I had was that the tour company needs to adjust expected arrival times to account for other pick ups and traffic.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: vcb, 2015/08/25

Amazing tour and very informative. A great way to see the whole island.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Tour

Reviewed by: MaryKL, 2015/07/20

What a great day on the Big Island. If you travel to Kona make sure to put this tour on your itinerary.
Our guide was Nickels and he was the most knowledgeable young man and very patient and pleasant too. He took us to all of the places you should see on the island and even managed an unscheduled stop to the southern most bakery in the US. Even our teenagers we're attentive and even asked questions. It's a long day(@ 12hours)but I didn't want it to end. We truly enjoyed this tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Tour and Tour Guide, Exceeded Expectations!

Reviewed by: Justine Z, 2015/05/03

It was my first vacation to the Big Island of Hawaii and I booked a full day circle tour with Wasabi Tours with my boyfriend, in order to get acquainted with the island's landscape and popular destinations. Our tour guide, Kala, was absolutely phenomenal! Not only did he show us all of the beautiful sights and landscapes that the island has to offer but he was also an encyclopedia of information! You could ask Kala almost anything about the island and he would almost certainly have the answer. Kala was a historian, a geographer, a geologist, a horticulturalist and even a sociologist all in one! He was a great story teller! Kala was also extremely hospitable, professional, warm, and inviting--right from the start to the end of the tour!Somehow he managed to keep enthusiastic for the 10+ hour long day. Kala mentioned he used to work in the high end resorts in the North Shore and you can really tell that he did, as he provides extremely professional service. He really went out of his way to make sure the guests were all getting the most out of the experience. When we learned the lava was really high in the Volcanoes National Park, Kala made a few separate attempts to return to the site, as the grounds were extremely steamy that particular day. He REALLY wanted us to see the lava, but it is so sad to say the weather did not cooperate that particular day despite Kala's greatest efforts. Despite this bad luck, we were fortunate enough to see all the other beautiful sites that Wasabi tours promises to take you! Finally, to top the day off, Kala knew how much I wanted to see some of the Hawaiian Honu (sea turtles), and he found me some of those as well! Overall, Wasabi Tours does a really great job preparing a fun and informative day for guests. Ultimately, a big thank you to Kala for keeping us entertained and showing us around the tropical paradise of Hawaii!

Mahalo!

Justine & Sam.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Big Island Tour!

Reviewed by: James, 2014/11/26

We were out in Honolulu on our first trip to Hawaii. My girlfriend and I purchased the Small Group Circle Island, Waipio Valley & Volcanoes National Park out of quite a few similar guided tours around the Big island. It was a fun experience that helped us learn quite a lot about the Big Island, geographic facts, ancient legends, etc. This drive is about 10 hours or so and is on and off the beaten path. Different from Honolulu and Oahu, this mostly rural island has its own culture, farmers’ markets, tropical rain forests, and black, green, and white sand beaches. Our tour guide was awesome (and I totally forgot his name) and a great story teller. He was punctual in picking us up from the Kona airport. Although the weather didn't really cooperate that particular day, it was rain and cold, our tour guide made it fun with providing us all kinds of great information as well as a really smooth ride. It was obvious he loves what he does and where he lives. The sights and landscapes were incredible - black, green and white sand beaches, lava fields, waterfalls, etc. Our approximately 250 miles tour (long but fascinating) touched at first the Parker Ranch in Waimea the bay-side town of Hilo and an orchid nursery. We stopped at the Waipio Valley Lookout, a must see location. The lookout offers sweeping views of the valley, which is breathtakingly beautiful even though the weather was very cloudy and it probably took away from the experience. We stopped at the Mauna Loa a macadamia farm and packaging place for lunch and snacks. We stopped at the Rainbow Falls very close to Hilo. It is a shorter visit with great photo ops. An absolutely fabulous view and yes, we did see a rainbow. At the Volcano National Park we saw smoke but no lava flows from the viewing area but walked through a lava tube. The black sand beach is one that is different to anything else we saw so far. We counted 12 turtles resting on the beach. My girlfriend and I highly recommend this guided tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Yim, 2014/10/22

I had Paul as my tour guide and had an amazing experience. Got to see a lot of cool places and Paul was very knowledgeable and very friendly. Will definitely book another tour when I come back to visit the big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI