Oahu to Molokai - Kalaupapa Father Damien Tour

Overall Rating

4.674.67 / 5

Reviews

21 reviews (Post a review)

A heaven from hell

Reviewed by: SHARON SHAMBOURGER , 2016/12/18

The flight to Kalaupapa was fantastic. To fly so low and slow allows to begin to get in touch with nature as you land. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the area,the people and demonstrated his own healing practices. When we went to Kalaheo,the side where the first lepers came,a heavy rain allows us to experience the difference in climate from the two areas and it became quite apparent why many died of pneumonia or TB until they were moved to the warmer side of Kalaupapa, a truly beautiful area. Father Darien and Sister Marianas added to make this hellish disease more bareable and a group that was hopeless found those who cared. It would really enhance the experience if you read the historical fiction Molokai by Brenert.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day Trip to Molokai!

Reviewed by: DHK, 2016/12/04

The pickup was right on time. The guide on Molokai was very knowledgeable. The personnel at the Molokai airport got us on an earlier flight and then the staff at the airport put us on an Uber rather than make us wait for the regular shuttle. Excellent service, all around!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hidden Hawaii

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/06/03

This tour was fun and the highlight of our trip. We have been vacationing in Hawaii for many years but this was our first time on Molokai. If you are looking for "Hidden Hawaii" this is the day trip for you. The pictures I took were beautiful and I learned a lot about the history of Father Damien. Highly recommended!





Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting tour

Reviewed by: Francesco, 2016/01/01

Beautiful experiance, with amazing views from the flight, very nice and funny driver, touching history of father Damien

Reply from activity provider

Thank you, Francesco, for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate your comments and am glad you had a chance to see Kalaupapa. It truly is an experience to remember.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Father Damien Tour on Kalaupapa

Reviewed by: Tim Ericson, 2015/12/18

This was a wonderful tour. The pick up and flight to Molokai went smoothly. The tour itself was great--very knowledgeable guide who had a wonderful sense of humor and an obvious respect for the many people who had lived their lives at Kalaupapa. We recommend this tour without hesitation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our vacation!

Reviewed by: Carolyn, 2015/11/28

This tour is very well done and informative. From the Cessna rides with beautiful views of Oahu to touring the town and history of Kalaupapa, this was definitely the highlight of our trip! It allowed me to be much more informed about the circumstances of the people who were sent to Molokai and the unbelievable compassion of Father Damien. A must do!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Transportation is quite primitive, wait time is long, but trip is highly educational

Reviewed by: davidkyw, 2015/11/01

We read about a great deal about long wait time in Kalaupapa airport (90 minutes in the morning), primitive bus ride (has a hole on the roof), and poor cell phone coverage. Everything is true. Still, the flight crew is nice. The tour guide is well informed. It is very educational about this part of Hawaiian history. On the way back, we were surprised that instead of flying us directly back to Oahu, we had to fly to the "topside" first and then wait another hour for a "connecting" flight.
Our advice is to take the trip from Maui. They seemed to be able to come in, hop on the bus and leave without much waiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Marie, 2015/07/06

The tour is really worth it, it is highly moving and the scenery is incredible. It is a pity we do not get to spend more time in the National Park of Kalaupapa.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very inspirational and unforgetable experience

Reviewed by: Jan & Cathy, 2015/05/07

Exceptional. We enjoyed our flight from Honolulu on a small Makani Kai airplane to Kalaupapa (a small peninsula on the east side of the island of Molokai). You step into a different world there that is quiet, isolated, peaceful & are 'on island time' (time slows down here - take a book to read while you wait for the tour to start and the return air flight etc.). We went to see the Kalaupapa National Historic Park & lighthouse there (we are National Park and lighthouse fanatics). We were driven around the peninsula in a school bus and our guide Norman was very knowledgeable abut the outstanding work that Father Damien & Mother Marianne did to help the people that were exiled here because they had the feared leprosy (Hansen's) disease. Some of the surviving patients and families have chosen to continue to live here. All are now cured, but still have the scars that leprosy leaves.

This was one of the highlights of our exploring trip to the 6 main islands in Hawaii. As a bonus, we got great views of the great Molokai sea cliffs. We are also glad that we took the airplane ride and chose not to take the mule ride or hike down the sea cliffs to Kalaupapa.


  • View of Molokai Sea Cliffs at our Lunch Stop


  • Mother Marianne's Memorial


  • Kalaupapa Lighthouse

Reply from activity provider

Thanks, Jan and Cathy for your nice review. Your words brought back those special memories that are so hard to describe...the peacefulness and quiet of Kalaupapa, the feeling of somehow going back to Old Hawaii. I am truly pleased that you enjoyed the tour. It's not for everyone, but for those who understand and appreciate the role that Kalaupapa played in Hawaii's history, the tour is time well spent. Thanks for using Makani Kai. - P.J. O'Reilley

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:N/A
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Father Damien Tour

Reviewed by: Tom and Denise, 2015/03/02

The trip was one of the best things we have ever done. Growing up as Catholics, it was very inspiring.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Tom & Denise. When folks ask me what is so great about the Damien Tour, I'm hard pressed to give a definitive answer. Mostly I say: you just have to see for yourself. It truly is an awesome and profound experience. I'm glad you both were able to do the tour. Thanks for your nice review.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI