Mauna Kea Summit Sunset & Stargazing Adventure

Mauna kea summit trip

Reviewed by: Linda & Scott Cherry, 2017/01/11

Great trip. Unfortunately the summit was closed due to high winds when we reached visitor center. Our guide, Joe was great. He took us on a hike to see the sunset which was amazing and then to an area where he set up a huge telescope for star gazing. He was very knowledgeable and made what could have been a disappointing trip into a great one. We had an amazing experience. I would highly recommend it. Good good too!


  • Chilly sunset!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cold Calgarians

Reviewed by: Elizabeth, 2017/01/08

Our guide, Hank, made the tour worth every penny. Not only was he totally organized and pleasant, his knowledge sharing was priceless. Geology, geography, astronomy, Hawaiian culture, history: so interesting! Thank you for a great day!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This tour was PERFECT !!! I'm gonna give it 10 stars :)

Reviewed by: Elaine, 2017/01/04

This tour was perfect, reply promptly when I had question.
The sunset and the starry night are stunning, wanna go again.
The guide is super nice, I joined 12/22, but forget the guide's name (sorry)
He was really professional and full of knowledge with the stars and thanks him gave us a ride to hotel, we are really appreciated !! Wanna say thanks again :)
If I have the chance, I'll go again !


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Views

Reviewed by: NLKTravel, 2016/11/19

Pros: Our guide was very knowledgeable and I learned a lot. You go from sea level to about 13,800 feet, so remember to drink water. The views at 13,803 feet were beautiful. The observatories are interesting to see (from the outside). You observe stars with an 11" telescope at the visiter center parking lot. The guide points out stars/planets that everyone gets a chance to see. They give you jackets with gloves available.

Cons: It is a bumpy ride and some of the road is dirt. The "hot" meal was more of a box lunch. Bathroom breaks are limited. You do climb to 14,000', be prepared for the climate and altitude change. I was under the impression we could see more of the observatories, you only see them from the outside and are not allowed in.


  • Observatory at Mauna Kea

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Srargazing 2016

Reviewed by: CGTUR, 2016/06/20

Great tour, the guide was very knowlegable answering all questions put. The trip was worth every penny. The sunset seen from the summit was truly spiritual.


  • Sset !!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Sunset & Stargazing Adventure

Reviewed by: Lon/Betsy Emelander, 2016/04/03

Well worth the long ride from Hawaii to the mountain. The guide was excellent and gave every one a look through the telescope multiple times. A once in a life time experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Dave S., 2016/03/29

Great tour and great guide in Brett....very knowledgeable and entertaining...one comment is tour could be shorter by eliminating the dinner

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Annette & Mike, 2015/06/19

Nate our tour guide was great! And extremely knowledgeable! Would recommend to all to experience not only the beautiful sunset but also the amazing stargazing!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overjoyed!

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

Hawaii Forest and Trail stands for competence, professionalism, passion and respect for the environment they allow to see and for travelers. They really think and manage everything with great knowledge and kindness. I felt cared for in every way, even the chocolate cake! The lesson on the stars was fantastic and we all got to use the telescope. Every wish was realized. The only thing we had to do was to be overwhelmed by the mystical magic Mauna Kea!







Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: DanV, 2015/03/28

This tour was great including the tour guide Greg

The only part that was not good was the food. The food was terrible. There must be a place closer that make much better food.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI