Kealakekua Bay Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Music (from Kailua-Kona Pier)

The most romantic and special event of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: Kimo Kameaalohalani , 2017/01/07

So I decided to propose on this particular cruise, and I couldn't have picked a more romantic, thoughtful, and special cruise to do it. I was so incredibly nervous, but the customer service rep was extremely communicative and responsive for my specific request. John, the captain of the vessel, was so knowledgable in the marine life, that my fiance and I asked if he had majored in Marine Biology in college. He had a lot of passion for the marine life and he spent a lot of time speaking with us. Also, the wait staff was beyond courteous, they took pictures of my engagement, and they made us feel so special with their champagne toast.

I also set-up an original song to sing for my fiance, and the musician onboard actually learned my song before-hand, and played it perfectly as I sang it in front of 40 strangers! His tunes really bring that cool, Hawaiian vibe, and the MC was great with her meticulous tour and crowd work. I couldn't have asked for a better sunset, a perfect location, and the greatest staff that I have probably ever encountered. That's saying a lot as I had been a musician on several international five-star cruise lines in the past. I would HIGHLY recommend this cruise to anyone looking for a special event with incredible food.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good food, Great crew, Lucky incidentals

Reviewed by: JMiller, 2017/01/03

The quality of food for a dinner cruise was above-average. Drinks were good. The crew was pretty solidly great, mixing an easy-going sociability with attentiveness. And we were lucky enough to see dolphins, glimpse whales, and spend time with a manta ray, all before catching a fantastic sunset.


  • They do this sort of thing.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us and your kind words! We hope that you'll join us again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful cruising along the coast.

Reviewed by: Dorothy, 2016/12/10

We enjoyed the narrative of the history of the island. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is the only company that is wheelchair accessible for a cruise. The good was fresh and very good.the pineapple dip was excellent and of course the sweet potatoes . The music was outstanding.
The man who pLayed and sang was really good. Beautiful voice.So as we cruised we enjoyed his singing. We would have bought a CD of his music but he said he said he hoped to have or ready before Chtidtmss


  • The sunset during the cruise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: S & S, 2016/10/01

Fantastic trip, great crew, and the food was delicious!! We were lucky enough to have great weather as well, resulting in smooth sailing and an awesome sunset!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner cruise

Reviewed by: David N., 2016/07/22

Great comfortable boat. Friendly service. Fantastic food.Highly recommend this dinner cruise


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

History and nature!

Reviewed by: aroundthecorner, 2016/02/25

Was not really a night for a Sunset, but we learned a lot of history / culture of Hawaii / Big Island, had good food, relaxing music, whales, dolphins, and yummy drinks. No complaints about this cruise! Thanks for the great time!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Night on Island

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2015/10/05

We had a great time! Staff was friendly and very interactive with guest, food was great and plentiful, entertainment was great, historical guide was informative and great to talk too! The boat wasn't packed with people like the other boats leaving the dock. We would definitely do the dinner cruise again. You get some spectacular sites from the cruise, even a dolphin side show. The captain stopped the Boat for dinner and we watched the spectacular sunset while eating. It was a great experience! I would highly recommend this dinner cruise.


  • Just one of our sunset pictures, beautiful view while eating dinner.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historical Kealakakua Bay Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Sherri McClane, 2015/07/05

Couldn't as for a better way to end the day. The setting perfect, the crew helpful and friendly, the narrative informative, the music the perfect backdrop for the evening. The food plentiful and wonderful. We had a few pleasant surprises along the way. We were entertained by a school of sinner dolphins going and coming, as well as seeing a flying fish or two. A good time was had by all, given the chance I'd do it all again.


  • dolphin swimming by boat


  • musician for the evening


  • the evening historian


  • sunset at sea

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best fun we had during our trip to Kona.

Reviewed by: From San Diego, 2014/08/04

I told friend of mine that I was going to be in Kona with my family and he highly recommended that I take Captain cooks dinner cruise. He couldn't remember the actual name of the dinner cruise but with this info I googled it and found it. I was skeptical at first about going on the three hour cruise because we were a huge party of 12 women, children and one man (me), but let me tell you, it was the funnest event of our entire 10 days in Kona. For the most part people seem to be nice and easy-going on the Big Island, but the entire crew of the boat - from the "captain" to the bartender - where the coolest, nicest, and funniest people we met on our entire trip to the Big Island. They really bend over backwards to make you feel at home and they definitely keep you entertained with an interesting historical overview of the Hawaiian Islands given by a Hawaiian storyteller, as well as by a great musical performance given by a talented and recognized young music artist. I highly recommend this dinner cruise for anybody wishing to have a great time in Kona!


  • Perfectly timed return to dock on sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do!

Reviewed by: Chere, 2014/05/21

The tour guide was awesome! I can't remember her name, but she pointed out a ton of cool sites (sights) and even knew how to hula dance! The food and drinks were delicious and it was a great experience! We even saw whales and spinner dolphins! Oh and LT Smooth was awesome too.


  • Tour guide has the flower in her hair


  • Sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI